Bolen Baby Surprise is Done!

WhooHoo!!! The Bolen Baby Surprise Sweater is done. Notice I called it sweater because I left off the row 80 flap and made this about 2 inches shorter than normal. The finished length on this one is about 10.75 inches which is plenty long for a six month old.  Again this is my version of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Baby Surprise Jacket in Liberty Wool colorway is Watercolor Rainbow using size 7 US needles. I cast on 160 stitches which is really the pattern for gauge of 6 stitches per inch. My gauge was 5 stitches per inch. I wanted a larger size.

I still have to assemble shoulder seams and add buttons. The main reason that this is called a Surprise Jacket is that when you knit it looks like an odd shaped “rectangle” with some extra corners. When you finish you fold it and sew a couple of seams and you have a jacket. It’s usually fun to knit and can be jazzed up with fun buttons or you can add cuffs or a hood. The pattern that I use gives instructions on how to make this in any size. If you have scrap yarn it’s a great scrap sweater. I usually use striping or variegated yarn. I’ve used fingering, sport, DK and light worsted weights. I’ve used size 5 and size 7 needles.

I’ve still got finishing work to do but will now cast on what I’ll call the baseball buttons cardigan. I ordered baseball buttons for it. I’ll use Berroco Comfort DK and size 5 US needles.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Bolen Baby Surprise is Done!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat