Girasole is done!

One of the reasons that I haven’t settled into a schedule since semi-retiring is that I signed up for a knit-a-long (KAL). I had decreed that I would not participate in any more KALs as they have deadlines and had become very stressful. I’m deadline-oriented and get very stressed when I don’t meet them–even when for fun. My online knitting friends were participating in this one and kept posting their pictures of works-in-progress so I caved to their unintentional peer pressure. The deadline was October 1. So for the last few weeks this project has been the priority.
I finished it on September 30 and blocked it over the weekend.Here are a couple of pictures which really don’t do the colorway justice. It’s made from Dream in Color Baby in Cloud Jungle colorway.Hopefully now I can settle into more of a routine.
I attend knitting groups in Danville and in Reidsville weekly and Greensboro a couple of times a month.
Other things on the needles are Nebula socks (only worked about 4 rows), Jelly Bean sweater (my own design) for charity, a sparkly tee top and Whispering Pines Shawl. I’ll post pics of their progress in later posts.
The Whispering Pines Shawl has been on the needles much longer than I like for projects to be in progress and has been nicknamed the shawl from hell. It’s a beautiful design and I love its looks and its feel but it has not been an easy knit for me. I attended a class that Anne Hanson, the designer of this shawl, taught. She stated that to knit lace one must have one’s mind and lifelines. My mind frequently takes vacations and I now appreciate the value of lifelines.
On the wheel is some alpaca which I’m plying. On the loom I’m weaving some Christmas placemats using log cabin design.
Grace and peace to all and happy knitting to my knitting friends.

0 Responses to “Girasole is done!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat