Shakin’ off the dust and (k)nittin’ on

Those (k)nitting goals I set for 2015…I’m not even going there. Pretty much it’s been a year of (k)nitting whatever I wanted when I wanted. This is a good thing. Yes, I had deadline (k)nitting…the officially unofficial Desert Vista Dyeworks monthly sock club and baby sweaters…lots of baby sweaters…and a couple of KALs. Basically it was a fun year. I learned to let projects hibernate so that I could meet deadlines when needed and to not stress over finishing KALs on deadline. I did finish a pair of socks every month, 11 baby sweaters, 3 Christmas stockings, 2 dog hoods, 6 shawls, 12 hats, 32 softies and 1 adult sweater. For 2016 I’m going to shake off the goal setting dust and (k)nit on. My friend, Carl who went to a better place in 2015, listed as his favorite someplace EZ’s quote about knitting on in confidence. So to honor Carl, I’m going to dedicate 2016 to (k)nitting on in confidence without goals or tears.2015-11-30 15.54.34

So what have I been doing since last post??? I’ve just (k)nits bound off the eleven pipers piping socks and ten lords a leaping socks in Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien using 2.25 mm needles and fish lips kiss heel. Now my idea was to wear the twelve stripes socks on the corresponding 12 days of Christmas. It is Christmas eve and 70 plus degrees and will be flip flop weather for the foreseeable future. Maybe in 2016.image

I’ve also just (k)nits bound off Playdate using US size 3, 5 and 6 needles and Wollmeise Pure in No Whale Watching in CO. I like this little sweater but didn’t really love the way the yarn pooled. As you’ll see below I’m (k)nitting another in a solid color.2015-11-23 15.23.31

I’ve also just (k)nits bound off TWO Peanut Vests 2015-12-12 13.58.17in Berroco Vintage DK using US size 3, 5 and 6 needles. I love these vests. This will in future be the boy baby gift go-to pattern. It was a quick (k)nit and has lots of possibilities. I used size 6 needles for the stranding.2015-12-12 14.00.48

I also just (k)nits bound off a Doolallies Rocking Horse stocking using a kit from Elegant Heirlooms and US size 5 needles.

2015-12-12 19.40.36What am I (k)nitting now? I’m just dead (k)nitting the twelve drummers drumming socks in Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien using 2.25 mm needles and fish lips kiss heel. I’m hoping to finish by 12th day but it won’t matter because it will be too warm to wear them.

I’m just (k)nitting for others another Playdate in Wollmeise Pure Feldmaus using US size 3, 5, and 6 needles. I’ll be modifying in favor of an afterthought pocket rather than the one the pattern uses.

All this being said, Merry Christmas to all who celebrate it and Happy 2016!

I’m shakin’ off the dust and (k)nittin’ on!

 

 

1 Response to “Shakin’ off the dust and (k)nittin’ on”


  1. 1 Jordan Walsh December 26, 2015 at 10:00 pm

    Love your socks. Adorable!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


