Canine Yarnivorous Virus

It rained and it rained and it rained. This means that Gilligan didn’t have outside playtime and had developed a huge case of canine yarnivorous virus. Late one evening (10pm), I noticed that he was vigorously shaking something that was not the color of anything he’s allowed to shake. I sat up so I could get a full view and discovered that he had a brand new hank of yarn that he’d gotten from the project basket–yes, I know I left it where he could get it…mea culpa–and had shaken it till it was yarn barf (for you non-knitting folks, this means it was a tangled pile of yarn and in this case messed up beyond all recognition and I failed to take a picture). Gilligan was immediately quarantined to his crate, and I spent the next three hours detangling and hand-winding the yarn. The next day the rain subsided enough that Gilligan was able to go outside some during the day. However he was having no part in going outside after dark. So he had another virus attack. This time I knocked a circular stitch holder off the end table. Gilligan retrieved it for me and chewed it up. Fortunately he didn’t consume any of this. He also damaged one of my Chiao Goo interchangeable cables. I’m not sure whether it was on the floor or he got it off the end table. Before the rain went away he got another interchangeable cable. Yes in all cases I left something he shouldn’t have where he could get it. Once again he was quarantined to his crate. I am very thankful that these small items were my only damages from the rains. I sent prayers and love to those in South Carolina who had real floods and major damage. (Makes me feel a bit guilty for my whining)

Since last post Rockefeller and Sockhead hat have started hibernation.

Just (k)nits bound off are Nine Ladies Dancing socks in Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien using 2.25 imagemm needles and Camo Gramps in GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome Wabbit Season Duck Season and Malabrigo Rios Lettuce on US size 6, 7 and 8 needles.2015-09-29 20.09.19

I cast on a couple of Just (k)nits for others projects. Boheme is on US size 7 needles and in Berroco Vintage DK. This pattern calls for worsted weight yarn but I’d bought DK weight for this project and this is 3rd pattern. I’m trying to make matching big-little sister patterns and sizing has become an issue. Vests can be a bit big with lots of room for growth. I’ve knit Boheme with the result that the recipient was able to wear it several seasons before outgrowing it. My gauge is usually a bit big so I was able to get the correct gauge with the DK weight and the fabric looks good.

My other Just (k)nits for others are Christmas stockings. I’m using kits from Elegant Heirlooms and US size 5 needles. These kits include everything but the needles and are economically priced. I purchased mine through Gate City Yarns. I’ve finished the knitting on the first one and have started the second. I still have duplicate stitch detailing, embellishing and assembly to do.

Now about Just dead(k)nits…I’ve been (k)nitting twelve stripes of Christmas socks each month as an entry into the Officially Unofficial Desert Vista Dyeworks Monthly Sock Club. So October 1, I should have cast on 10 Lords a-leapin’ but traditionally I’ve knit Halloween socks every fall. My friends starting posting pictures of their Halloween socks and I caved. So I cast on Eating Candy Corn socks on 2.25 mm needles using Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso in Zombody’s Eating Candy Corn. The lords will probably leap in November and the candy corn socks work for the sock club entry and I always eat candy corn around Halloween.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Canine Yarnivorous Virus”


  1. 1 Mary Hess October 14, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    Would love the baby vest in adult size. Love the Gramps pattern ! Looking fwd to Candy Corn sox!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


