Amphibious (k)nitting

One of my friends posted an article from a newspaper with a headline proclaiming that the A’s had an amphibious pitcher. Of course, they meant an ambidextrous pitcher and the article itself had the correct word only the headline was incorrect. This led to much discussion about what was involved in being an amphibious pitcher. It also made me realize that, sometimes, I’m an amphibious (k)nitter–meaning sometimes I frog.

I did a bit of amphibious (k)nitting on my just sleep(k)nits to go Six Geese-a-layin’ socks. Actually sock 1 and sock 2 will be slightly different. I’m pretty the heels are different and that sock 2 has less stitches (no I’m not counting them). The amphibious (k)nitting came when, at knit night, I set up cuff ribbing and tried to increase 2 stitches so total stitches would be imagedivisible by 4. I realized that wasn’t necessary because 64 is divisible by 4. So I tinked the set up row and worked about 4 rows with 64 stitches–not thinking to look at the cuffs of sock 1 which was handy. When I got home, I looked at sock 1 and realized it had 68 cuff stitches. I had hoped these would be just (k)nits bound off last night, and , yes, I know that no one will see the cuffs under my pants leg but it bugged me. So, like any good amphibian, I ate the bug through amphibious (k)nitting. The heels will just have to be slightly different because the difference can’t be seen from the back of a galloping horse. In other words, if I can’t tell no one else can tell. These socks are now just (k)nits bound off. Moral of this story…make notes, I don’t care how many times you’ve knit the pattern…make notes.

In just (k)nits in the zone, I have a bit of tinking to do. Picnicknits Mystery Shawl KAL 2015 clue 3 released on Thursday. I worked all 26 rows and was 2 stitches from the end of row 26 when I realized the pattern instructed in big bold capital letters to KNIT across row and I had purled. I started correcting this but have decided to put this project to sleep until last three clues are released.  I’m still not feeling the love for this pattern and keep (k)nitting with the hope I’ll like it better after the next clue. After giving it some thought, I’ve decided not to invest more time in this project until I see pictures of the last three clues. If the piece comes together, then I’ll finish and, if not, I’ll amphibious (k)nit and re-purpose the yarn. Moral of this story…you have to read the pattern…don’t assume.

I had limited in the zone (k)nitting time last week, so am still finishing clue 4 of TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2015 and clue 5 released Monday. Since I now only have one just (k)nits in the zone project, I should get clue 5 finished before clue 6 releases. This project I love love love.

My new just sleep(k)nits to go project is Seven Swans a-swimmin’ socks using Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien in Swans a Swimmin’ on 2.25 mm needles with fish lips kiss heel. I made notes of my “recipe” so that I should have a pair of matching socks (well, as close to matching as I can get). I struggled with the colorway on this pair. I’ve been watching a friend knit a pair of socks using Zombody Throw me Some Beads colorway and am itching to cast on mine. While that will satisfy “sock club” rules, the Southparknitter Rules say no, I have to knit 12 days socks.image

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

 

 

1 Response to “Amphibious (k)nitting”



Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


