Down the Bunny Trail

As you know I’ve been just (k)nitting for others a Lush Cardigan. I’ve never been pleased with this project and had looked a bit for another pattern but just didn’t find another I liked. I planned to make two of these for the daughters of a friend and have bunny “butt” ons to go on them so needed to make a cardigan. A friend shared the link to a free pattern that reminded me of Milo. So I was looking at the Milo page on Ravelry to figure out if I could use the buttons on Milo which is a pullover and found this. This pattern is much more to my liking so, once I’ve finished the fish hat below, I’ll be off the Lush bunny trail and on to Granny’s Favourite. Okay I needed a larger gauge stockinette project so I’ve already cast on using US size 4 needles and Berroco Vintage DK and am about 2 rows from dividing for sleeves. I love the pattern. Now if I could find a go-to baby boy sweater besides Buttons Cardigan. I’d be good to (k)nit…seems like all my friends are having boy babies.

My current just (k)nits for others project is a Fish Hat for Owen who is 12 years old and has Hodgkins Lymphoma. I’m using US size 7 needles and GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Iron Man. I’m actually calling the project Tony the beat-the-beast Iron Fish. I consulted with Owen’s Nanny and learned that Iron Man is his favorite Avenger. Judging from my yarn usage, I’m probably going to have to make the fins and maybe the tail in another colorway (turquoise). The pattern calls for eyes cut from felt but I’m going to try duplicate stitch eyes which I think will be better for the washing process. I still have to put eyes on the camo fish and plan to finish both fishes this weekend. Then the focus will be the Granny’s Favourite sweaters.

I just (k)nits bound off Lullaby Rain on US size 6 needles in Quince & Co Chickadee Glacier colorway.image (Sorry I’m still a block away but you can get the idea. I woke up my just (k)nits in the zone  TTL Mystery Sock KAL 2015. I had planned to finish before Kirsten Kapur sends the first clue for TTL Mystery Shawl  KAL 2015 but as before was struggling with this project. I’m finding it difficult to see and “read” the lace knitting in the small sock gauge. This makes it easier to make mistakes and harder to find them and is a bit frustrating. Since southparknitter rules say that (k)nitting should be fun this project has gone to the frog pond to return as a pair of gloves or mitts.  I’ve also signed up for Picnicknits 2015 Mystery Shawl KAL and the first clue comes out on June 11.

Just sleep(k)nits to go project is Five Gold Rings socks using Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien on 2.25 mm needles and using my version of One Needle Mock Gusset heel. My version uses knit front and back (bar) increases instead of make 1 increases and German short rows rather than the pattern version. I also had some problems with the row numbering so I edited that.It is May 30 and I’ve just started the ribbed cuff so have no doubt these will be finished by day’s end. Monday I’ll cast on Six Geese a-laying using the same heel treatment.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Down the Bunny Trail”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


