Froggy came a courtin’

and we did rip…the Follow Your Arrow 2 that is. imageI was on next to last row of Clue 4 and did what I should have done on the first day…frogged. This pattern is highly textured and needs a solid or semi-solid yarn. I was using Wollmeise Pure in No Whale Watching in CO which is variegated so the beautiful textures were lost in the yarn. The yarn needed to be something else “showy” so that it’s beautiful color can be seen. I’ve debated the combination since day 1 and stubbornly convinced myself that it would look okay. It did look okay but it should be beautiful. So once I’ve finished my sweater and my Through the Loops Mystery Socks, I’ll select a semi-solid yarn and give it another go. I suspect the Wollmeise will be a Martina Behm piece down the road.

I did cast on Mint Julep this week as a just sleep(k)nitting to go project. imageIt has a bit of cabling so will be in the zone for a couple of days. I’m using US size 8 needles and Classic Elite Majestic Tweed in Cherry Pie colorway.  I’ve had this yarn for several years. I don’t even remember what I originally planned to knit. I had trouble getting a gauge and fabric. I’ve swatched for several pieces and actually cast on and frogged one piece. The gauge is much better suited to Mint Julep. I’m concerned about yarn quantity so am making a smaller size than I’d planned but think it will be okay. I started with the sleeve which is the reverse of my normal order. Several of my knitting friends do this so that, if gauge isn’t right, one only has to frog a sleeve and not the back or body. Gauge is right and I’ve finished sleeve 1.

imageI’ve also made more Top This! Hats. These are a quick knit and I’ve made them for some children friends. This week I made soccer ball and owl hats.image these are just (k)nits for others and are basically worked on Sunday afternoon. I use US size 9 needles.

After having to set aside all other projects to finish my officially unofficial Desert Vista Dyeworks monthly sock club socks on time the last two months, I decided to cast them on the first day of the month so I can knit other things. I’m still using 2.25 mm needles and Zien in Three French Hens colorway.image I’m using Fish Lips Kiss Heel. I’ve finished the foot of sock 1 and will work the heel tomorrow. These are also just sleep(k)nits to go.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Froggy came a courtin’”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


