Just (k)nits snow day

Okay so it was a snow week not a snow day.I usually take pictures outside on Sunday afternoon but sometimes I’m almost finished with a project and don’t want to stop to take pictures. Last week it was the Football buttons and which I finished Monday afternoon and then it snowed–well, what we call snow here in NC–and then it was too cold to stand outside and take pictures.  So I declared a blog snow day which extended into a week

I put a couple of projects into hibernation. Just (k)nits in the zone projects, TTL Mystery Sock KAL 2015 and Follow Your Arrow 2 are both now asleep for a while. I’m finding that (k)nitting without my planner is leading to more unfinished objects in hibernation. That’s okay…I’m having fun.These will be awake next post and I can post pictures now.

The reason they’re sleeping is so I could cast on my Officially Unofficial Desert Vista Dyeworks Monthly Sock Club offering for February. Again I’ll be using Fish Lips Kiss Heel, 2.25 mm needles and Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien in Two Turtle Doves colorway. These are a just sleep(k)nits to go project. As you can see I’m working on sock 2 so should be able to finish by the 28th.image

I just (k)nits bound off the Football Buttons. I usually (k)nit the sleeves in the round with occasional lapses into flat knitting. This time I flat knit them but am not really happy with my seaming job so probably won’t try it again for a while. It’s (k)nit from Berroco Vintage DK and buttons are from Wildflower Button Studio (formerly Fastenation). imageI used US size 5 needles.

My just (k)nits for others projects right now are some animal hats that are kits from DMC called Top This! that are (or were) available at Gate City Yarns. They’re a quick knit and pattern and animal head are included. imageI am making quite a few of these for toddlers and small children. The pattern has two sizes (toddler and small adult/child). In my humble opinion, the toddler one is a bit small and would fit an infant better. It’s 15 inches. The larger size may be a bit large for a toddler but can be worn multiple years. imageOnce the socks (above) are finished, I’ll be casting on a couple of children’s sweaters using Lush…maybe. Since I won’t be able to finish them before spring, I may cast on something else and, for some reason, am not feeling the love for (k)nitting these right now. So stay tuned.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Just (k)nits snow day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


