Arrow Following

I bought but have never knitted Ysolda Teague’s Follow Your Arrow 1 KAL. So when she published Follow Your Arrow 2 I decided to knit along using US size 6 needles and Wollmeise Pure in No Whale Following in CO. This piece is giving new meaning to just (k)nits in the zone. Wednesday I cast on, then frogged, then cast on, then frogged, then cast on and accidentally pulled stitches from needle and frogged, then repeated that process, then cast on and tinked. I think I probably frogged a couple of more times but you get the idea. Each clue has two options, A and B. My first thought was to select via random number generator…odd=A, even=B. That didn’t work well. Option selection was obviously made by trial-and -error method–a whole lot of trial and a whole lot of error. I settled on B which allowed you decide how to work M1R and M1L either by yarnover method or backwards loop method a la Elizabeth Zimmermann. I even used trial-and-error method for this…settling on backwards loop method. Normally I make 1 by picking up the bar between two stitches and twisting to left or right as instructed. This is easier to me but I’m doing as the pattern suggests because I learned on another piece that trying to change from what I believe is the British method to the southparknitter method will wreck the train. After a whole afternoon of (k)nitting in the zone, I had finished 7 rows the longest one about 30 stitches.

I was also just (k)nitting in the zone  TTL Mystery Sock KAL 2015 on 2.25 mm needles using Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Echo colorway, Clue 2 was released on Wednesday while I was trying to finish clue 1 of Follow Your Arrow. I downloaded and prepared my pattern file but realized that to finish my just sleep(k)nits to go Partridge in a Pear Tree socks by January 31 both in the zone projects would need to hibernate.

Speaking of the Partridge in a Pear Tree socks using 2.25 mm needles and Fish Lips Kiss heel and Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien. I lack about 5 rows finishing up sock 1. Yes I was sleep(k)nitting and just couldn’t get it done. imageTo qualify for discounts and prizes in the Officially Unofficial Sock Club these have to be finished by 1/31/15. I’m hoping they will be but if not, I’ll have a pair of socks and will move on to Two Turtle Doves.

Also Monday and Tuesday I cast on and finished a snood for my great-nephew furboy, Cooper Witherspoon. I think the yarn was Berroco Vintage and I used US size 8 needles. I needed a worsted weight project that was pretty mindless and portable for a couple of days and that fit the bill. This was also a just sleep(k)nits to go project. I failed to photograph this but will be making one for Cooper’s brother, Yancy, and will include both in the picture.

Piper’s Journey is my just (k)nits for othersimage and I’m using Classic Elite Cerro and US size 5 needles. I’m about 2/3 finished with the applied edging and hope to finish this piece next Sunday.

As I suspected, just (k)nitting new tricks receive no love this week. I will be adding that to the mix again this week and will be spending some quality time with Sunny, my Ashford Traveller spinning wheel, this week. Sunny has been neglected since October. She and I are spinning some CVM Romeldale to (k)nit a sweater. My goal is to finish spinning the yarn in 2015.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Arrow Following”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


