Old Dog New Tricks

One of my 2015 (k)nitting goals is to devote Tuesday to new technique (k)nitting. In other words, the old dog (aka me) is going to learn new tricks. I’m enrolled in several Craftsy classes and the plan was to watch a class session each Tuesday and work on the related project the rest of the day. So Tuesday I watched the first session of Lucy Neatby‘s Foundations of Double Knitting. I love the way that two-color double knitting looks. I finished watching the video and cast on the project but then decided maybe practicing each day for an hour or so would be better than just working on it Tuesday…NOT!!! I failed. So from now on, Tuesdays will be just (k)nitting new tricks days.

Sundays are devoted to just (k)nitting for others. My project right now is Piper’s Journey in Classic Elite Cerro on US size 5 needles. 2015-01-11 18.31.14 - Copy This piece will be a prayer shawl for a cancer fighter. I’m almost finished with the garter ridge section.  I’ve had some issues with stitch count…when am I going to learn that stopping every couple of rows to count is quicker than a frog pond visit or a tinking session??? I have placed markers which makes counting easier so maybe…

Just (k)nits in the zone  is Exploration Station on US size 5 needles in Dream in Color Everlasting Sock in  Tart, Damp Pillow, Elysian and Deep Regret colorways. 2015-01-11 18.32.10 - CopyI’ve just started the last section which is a chevron motif. Here again I’ve had stitch count issues–even with markers and counting every pattern repeat. I’m beginning to think the old dog should just (k)nit scarves but then I’d be bored. So I added a design element stitch and moved on. I’m really liking this piece and stating this is a big bite of crow because I stated that I was NOT going to (k)nit it. Sure am glad I did.

Just sleep(k)nits to go are the two Maple Grove sweaters on US size 5 and 6 needles using Mrs Crosby’s Steamer Trunk in Monkey Orchid colorway. I’m not overjoyed with these. I don’t like the stiff fabric and have decided that I miss buttons. Buttons are an important part of my pieces.2015-01-11 18.36.08 - Copy I don’t wear a lot of jewelry so I select buttons that can function as jewelry even on children’s pieces that I’m gifting. I probably won’t use this pattern again in favor of buttoned pieces. As you can see from the picture of Maple Grove 2 I’ve finished except for grafting and end weaving. I’ll post a picture of both sweaters finished next post.

Once I finish the sweaters I’ll cast on my Partridge in a Pear Tree Socks which will be plain vanilla socks using Fish Lips Kiss heel on US size 1 needles and using Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien in Partridge in a Pear Tree.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Old Dog New Tricks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


