Just (k)nitting on in 2015

The dust has settled and I’m just (k)nitting on. While I was involved in my at-work dust storm, I pretty much stuck to mindless sleep(k)nitting. I decided after a couple of trips to the frog pond that yards and yards of stockinette were best. Since I didn’t have to focus so much, I gave some thought to 2015 (k)nitting quest. Since this will be my last post in 2014, I decided to share them as well as review.My original goal was to knit 12 sweaters and to have fun. I quickly didn’t 12 adult sweaters would not be fun and revised this to 8 adult sweaters. I met this goal and, during the course of the year, knitted over 100 projects. Some of these were critters that only took a couple of hours but projects still.

My goal for 2015 is to just (k)nit 4 adult sweaters (one per quarter) and to just (k)nit through the project kits in one tote (ongoing). and to just (k)nit Susan B Anderson’s dolls and Ben.I also hope to learn some new techniques or sharpen some old ones via several Craftsy classes in which I’m enrolled but haven’t taken. I’m hoping to have Technique Tuesdays and have “class” on Tuesday afternoons beginning the first Tuesday in January. The first class will be Lucy Neatby’s Double Knitting class.

Now let’s move on to what’s been happening since last post. Just (k)nits in the zone is Exploration Station (Stephen West knit along). I was just (k)nitting this with my knit night friends and visited the frog pond when I was working the brioche section. I think last post I said emphatically that I’d not be (k)nitting this piece and would knit along Safety Scarf. I cast on Safety Scarf and worked three sections and just did not feel the love for it. So the yarn will be toddler sweaters down the line somewhere.

Currently, I’m just sleep(k)nitting to go Maple Grove on US size 5 and 6 needles and using Mrs Crosby’s Steamer Trunk in Monkey Orchid colorway. This pattern calls for Aran weight yarn with a gauge of 5 stitches and 28 rows per inch. The fabric is extremely dense so I’m not sure that once I’ve finished the two sweaters I’m currently planning that I’ll make others. I generally like dense fabric but that is too dense for children’s wear. I do like the pattern.

Since last post I’ve just (k)nits bound off quite a few projects. I’ll start with a picture of my Mystik Spiral socks in Desert Vista Dyeworks Dia de los Muertos colorway using US size 1 needles. 2014-10-28 13.38.20-1I also finished Southpark Luv4Muv using Quince and Co Lark in Chanterelle colorway and US size 7 and 8 needles. This is an improvised pattern.2014-12-20 14.16.17 I also finished  a pair of mittens using Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Knitting Patterns, leftover sock yarn of unknown origin and US size 1 needles. 2014-12-03 12.38.16I just (k)nit Leftover Turkey 2014-11-26 18.28.28in Cascade 220 and Another Crafty Girl Merino Worsted using US size 5 needles and Teeter Totter Reindeer in Cascade 220 using US size 5 needles.2014-11-29 15.09.30Magrathea in Knitosophy Superhero colorway on 3.0  mm needles is a block away from being wearable.2014-12-21 16.49.18The Ellen Cardi using Berroco Comfort DK and US size 7 needles and Ann Budd’s recipe from her Handy Book of Top Down Sweaters is off the needles and hopefully was gifted yesterday. 2014-12-20 14.15.06-1 I also had to knit a Fish Hat using Berroco Vintage and Another Crafty Girl Merino Worsted and US size 7 needles (I think—no note on needle size). 2014-12-21 16.35.48-1Last just (k)nits bound off was Hudson Fur-Brim Hat in Tahki Hudson and using US sizes 15 and 10.5 needles.2014-12-26 11.21.41 Yeah there was a lot of just sleep(k)nitting to go happening. Now I’m going to mercifully end this post and start some just (k)nits in the zone.

Happy 2015 and till next year, not frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

 

0 Responses to “Just (k)nitting on in 2015”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


