Don’t stop believin’

I’ve said this to other knitters more than once when they’re trying new techniques. You know those techniques that you furrow your brow and ask “how is that going to work?” Sometimes you just have to have faith and believe and just (k)nit on. So why didn’t I practice what I preach when I tried to knit the One-needle Mock Gusset (OMG) heel a little over a year ago. I took one look (actually glance) at the instruction and said “that ain’t gonna work” even when lots of other knitters I knew were knitting it with no problems. One thing that I had a problem with was the row numbering but if I’d closely read instead of glancing, I imagewould have understood this. I’m using this heel treatment on my just (k)nits in the zone, Halloween socks NOT image(aka Mystik Spiral Socks from Josh Ryks),  and have to say that I love it. I suspect that I’ll use it often. I also love the Mystik Spiral Socks and already have yarn picked out for a second pair.I did try using German short rows and decided that the short row technique in the pattern was necessary on the foot and leg but German short rows were okay for the heel. I did have a couple of minor issues with the pattern and have sent an inquiry to Mr. Ryks. I did what I thought I should do and kept going. So my apologies to Megan Williams for doubting your design abilities…you did know best and I shouldn’t have stopped believing.

I’ve almost finished the yoke of  my just sleep(k)nits to go, South Park Luv4Muv. Since this piece is pretty much stockinette, I can (k)nit it at night when my brain is tired. I’m working on a second pair of Kirstin’s fingerless mitts (leftover mitts) in Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feathers using US size 4 needles as my to go (k)nit.

You will notice that I no longer have just (k)nits for fun (hey, they all are fun or should be). I did this because I tend to categorize projects by when I (k)nit them. Basically, I have gift/charity (k)nits (aka just (k)nits for others) that are usually worked on Sundays, projects that are mindless and/or small that can be worked in the evening or in public image(aka just sleep(k)nits to go) and projects that require me to be mentally alert and totally focused which are now known as just (k)nits in the zone.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Don’t stop believin’”


  1. 1 Mary Hess October 9, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    Your freaky spiral sox are wild crazy wonderful!!!!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


