100 years of Muv-Luv!

A very special lady turns 100 today. Now this is a knitting blog so I’ll tell you right now that almost 50 years ago she taught me to knit. My mom had four remarkable sisters. She is the oldest. For much of my life she was my back door neighbor. I spent as much time at her home as mine. I still consider her house my second home. Since I lost my mom 13 years ago, she has become my “mother.”  She loves me with the same unconditional love that my mother had for me. I go to her with all the “things” with which my mom helped me when she was alive.I’m also her namesake. We share a middle name.2014-09-04 23.19.25
In addition to knitting, she has taught me many other things. When I made or was about to make bad choices, she could convince me to make the right choice without my realizing what she’d done. Many times she convinced me to do things even my parents couldn’t. In case you haven’t figured it out, I love her very much.

Her grandchildren and great grandchildren and her great great grandchildren call her “Muv.” When extended family members refer to her, we often call her “Muv.”

If you’ve been following the last month or so, you know that I’m in process of improvising a sweater which will be heavily cabled. Since my second sweater project that Muv helped me knit was a top-down cable sweater and since it’s her birthday and I love her, I’ve decided to name the new sweater South Park Luv4Muv. I’m just (k)nits casting it on today in honor of 100 years of Muv-Luv. I’ll post sweater details later in the week.

Someone posted this on Facebook recently (source: notestoquote.com) and I thought it appropriate

Only aunties, can love you like a mother, keep secrets like a sister, behave like a true friend, and kick your butt if you need it.

Thanks, Muv, for doing all the above and then some. Happy birthday! I love you!

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “100 years of Muv-Luv!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


