Punkin

Remember the last few posts when I stated  no critter or gift knitting for a while? I lied…I didn’t mean to lie but I lied. Wednesday I was on Ravelry and discovered this little punkin and I have to (k)nit him/her now. So Thursday I stash dived to make sure I still had some GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Witches Brew which I do . So Sunday afternoon will find me just (k)nits casting on this little punkin. I’ll be using some Cascade 220 with the GnomeAcres and US size 5 needles.image

My just (k)nits for fun, February Lady Sweater, in Cascade 220 has a finished body and I’ll be picking up sleeve stitches this afternoon. I’m using US size 8 needles. This will be just (k)nits bound off next post–I hope.

Last weekend was a long weekend so I was able to wetblock both Zuzu’s Petals .image As promised here are pictures of both blocked and ready-to-wear and both are gifts. I used worsted weight yarn which is okay but personally I want mine made from fingering weight. I don’t have a neck.image
Just (k)nits bound off are the Sidewalk Socks in Gale’s Art Wonder Sock Graffiti and Asphalt colorway. They’re plain vanilla with gusset and I used US size 0 needles. I loved this base stock which made a really sturdy fabric that I think will wear well.

Once these were off the needles I woke up the Not Quite to Tennessee Socks. I’m using US size 0 needles and 68 stitches to make afterthought heel socks. I’m using Desert Vista Dyeworks The Guitars of SSK colorway. The socks will be donated to  a silent auction to help bash diabetes so they are Just (k)nits for others.imageimage

Once the FLS is just (k)nits bound off, I’ll be just (k)nits casting on WendyKnits Summer Mystery Shawl 2014 using Tempted Yarns Dream Grrl in buttons and bows colorway. This was a club colorway that came with a hat pattern. I don’t wear hats so I repurposed the yarn. I’m hoping that this will also be auctioned to bash diabetes but am not sure I’ll have time to knit and block it before the auction date.

I’m also in the swatching and pattern writing process for the SouthPark Jeans now known as SouthPark Muv. The reason for the name change will be the subject of a later post. I’m using Ann Budd’s Knitter’s Handy Book of Top-Down Sweaters for calculations for a top-down raglan crew neck cardigan and will use the cable and rib motif from Mr Greenjeans. I’m not going to go into a lot of detail about the process here but will discuss the design in more detail in a special post on September 30 which is the cast on date for this project. I’m using Quince & Co Lark and US size 7 needles for this project.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

 

1 Response to “Punkin”


  1. 1 Mary Hess September 5, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    Yep, I’m right that I need a month head start on any buddy knit! I’m about half way on first sleeve and not sure I will have it done by end of weekend. I LOVE Punkin……can see why it is a ‘must do’! Haven’t decided what I’ll use my asphalt for yet but the sox look great! Are the stripe sox self stripping?

    Sooooo glad we didn’t have full summer like the last few days!!! Hot and mega humid! I hate having to turn on AC but have had to give in a few times. Cooling down starting tonite!☺️

    Have a good weekend!!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


