A long long time ago

I haven’t posted in a long long time. My holiday’s been over for more than a week. I’d planned to post last week but re-entry wasn’t as smooth as I’d planned and I spent a lot of time catching up. Usually when I go away I get caught up before I go but this was a surprise trip so that didn’t happen.Also I wanted to finish the backpack buddies and the sweater body before posting.

The backpack buddies are now just (k)nits bound off. Here’s a group picture of them and they were all knit on US size 5 needles in various scraps of worsted weight yarns. 2014-08-03 18.26.51After I’d been home for several days I found a secret just (k)nits for others sleeping in my work-in-public knitting bag. So it is also just (k)nits bound off.I’m a bit burnt out on animal (k)nitting and even though I need to make an Undersized Unicorn for a gift. I decided to just (k)nits cast on a gift for my holiday hostess which will be either a Gothic Lace Cowl or a Zuzu’s Petals. I bought enough Cascade Tangier to make both. I’ll just (k)nit both and let my hostess choose which she prefers and then I’ll keep the other. Both were in the queue.

I also wanted to finish the body of my just (k)nits for fun, Shaken or Stirred, which was my car knitting on the four-plus hour road trip. I also worked on this while in the hotel room. I still have to bind off and the photo is a view of the sweater back. My hope is to finish this in the next week. This is in Quince & Co Chickadee in Frost (main color), Delft and Crocus (stripes). I’m using US size 3 needles. I’m a bit concerned about the armhole depth and will breathe a sigh of relief when the body is bound off and I can try it on “properly.” 2014-08-04 08.55.52I modified the striping sequence and did my own thing. I do plan to make another of these.

Yes, I do have a pair of socks on the needles and, yes, I could have worked on those. But, the Sidewalk socks are slip-stitch heel with gusset socks so, not knowing how much knitting time would be available and not wanting to possibly have to work a heel turn in public, I decided to cast on another pair of 2014-08-03 18.30.46afterthought heel socks using Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso in The Guitars of SSK. I’m calling these the Not Quite to Tennessee socks and am using US size 0 needles and 68 stitches.The reason for the project name is that I was a bit blue because I missed seeing all my SSK friends who were in Nashville the weekend before my holiday which was about 20 miles from the TN-NC border.  I worked on these in public areas of the hotel and, due to a broken needle, had to stop until I got home. They’ve been transferred to another needle and are now hibernating until I finish the Sidewalk socks which are getting some love now.Speaking of the Sidewalk socks I’ve finished sock 1. I’m using US size 0 needles and Gale’s Art Wonder Sock in Graffiti and Asphalt.2014-08-03 18.30.02

My next just (k)nits cast on sweater will be my second February Lady Sweater in Cascade 220. I’m rethinking Mr Greenjeans which I was also planning to knit. Right now I’m pretty sure the yarn for this will be a bottom-up crew-neck raglan sleeve version of Mr Greenjeans which will be called South Park Jeans. Certainly you’ll be reading more about that in a couple of months.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

 

0 Responses to “A long long time ago”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


