Tomorrow is another day and best laid plans

I’ve known Leslie and Laura of the KnitGirllls for six years or so.  I met them at The Loopy Ewe’s first Spring Fling. They are part of the gang that is responsible for my Rav name, southparknitter. I mention the KnitGirllls because, recently, I’ve been amused by Leslie’s teasing Laura about having “deadlines” for her knitting projects. I don’t find this strange at all because I set deadlines (goals)  and also have a friend who was teasing me about my knitting deadlines. I blame it on my day job which is very deadline-oriented. I just knit better when I have a deadline. Otherwise I’d be jumping from one task (not necessarily knitting tasks) to another and nothing would get done. I’m pretty much a product knitter but, after reflecting, think that perhaps I’m a bit of a process knitter and the deadline setting prevents me from casting on multiple projects (and we all know that I melt down when this happens).I even have a task manager app that allows me to keep up with my deadlines And just so you know I not only set completion goals but also set daily goals…as in “today I’ll knit 4 rows of the TTL Mystery Shawl KAL, 8 rows of Lindsay, half of an Owl Puff, spin 30 minutes and read 50 pages” and have been known to calculate via spreadsheet the total number of stitches in a project so I can set daily goals. (I’d do this now but haven’t found a good spreadsheet app for my iPad and am too lazy to drag out the laptop to calculate.) No I’m not OCD…and if I don’t make these goals, well then…”after all, tomorrow is another day.”

South Park Linidsay, my just (k)nits for fun sweater, is a bit ahead of schedule. I’m trying not to write this too loudly because I’ll be at the frog pond before you can say “rip it.” I actually allowed extra time for this one as I have a secret project that may require the Lindsay to take a nap. I’ve finished the body and am now ready to work the bands. I tried it on last night and it fits perfectly. I hope to finish the bands and block by Saturday. The yarn is Quince and Co Chickadee in Belize colorway on US size 3 and 5 needles.2014-06-26 08.23.57

My secret just (k)nits for fun TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014 is on schedule. This week I decided to work four rows a day. I’m using Black Trillium Pebble Sock in the smoke gradient and US size 6 needles. The last clue will be released Sunday so I’ll post pictures on the next post.

I’m making owl puffs for my just (k)nits for others backpack buddies. I used leftover Malabrigo Rios in Jupiter and Lavanda and Dancing Dog Dyeworks in Baby Bacon and Teallicious and US size 5 needles.2014-06-26 08.26.48

Just (k)nits casting on…The next sweater project will be Shaken or Stirred using Quince and Co Chickadee in Frost, Crocus and Delft. I’m debating what other color(s) to use if any. Before I just (k)nits cast on the sweater I’ll cast on Brickless. I’m using Miss Babs Yowza in Zombie Prom colorway and US size 6 needles. I stood in line for 30 minutes while my friends waited at SAFF last year to buy the yarn because I just had to have that colorway, When I got ready to wind it, I realized that it was very similar to Malabrigo Rios Zarzamora colorway which was available at Gate City Yarns and would have been cheaper. Also I could have ordered the Miss Babs online without standing in line or inconveniencing my friends. My desire to just (k)nit cast on the Brickless is fueling my “burners” to finish the Lindsay.

While stash diving, I did some project planning till the end of 2014. Mainly this was more getting organized in nature because we all know “the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” I’m hoping to alternate sweaters and wraps along with my small projects.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits

0 Responses to “Tomorrow is another day and best laid plans”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


