On Second Thought

maybe increasing 15 stitches at cuff of sleeves on my Just (k)nits for fun South Park Lindsay sweater wasn’t such a good idea. It was such a bad idea that I visited the frog pond after knitting about 6 inches of sleeve and increased 7 stitches which was a better result. I then increased every 8th row which is the knit row in the pattern. I added motifs whenever I had enough stitches to do so. This pattern is one that I’m “designing” using calculations from The Sweater Workshop and my version of a motif from Harmony Guides. I’m using Quince and Co Chickadee in Belize colorway and US size 4 and 6 needles for in-the-round knitting and US size 3 and 5 needles for the flat knitting. So far I’m happy with the results and, even with the visit to the frog pond and a non-knitting day this week, am on schedule with this piece.2014-06-12 08.19.00

Also in just (k)nits for fun, I’ve also finished clue 1 and half of clue 2 on the TTL Mystery Shawl KAL 2014. I’m using Black Trillium Pebble Sock in Smoke gradient using US size 6 needles. I had planned to join the second colorway when I changed clues and work 2 rows of new then 2 rows of old colorway as suggested by Kirsten Kapur, the designer, but I had a yarn change fail and didn’t want to frog and don’t think I have enough color 1 to add 2 more rows. Maybe I can do this when changing to color 3. Either way it’s okay the way it is.Again no pictures of this until the MKAL is over.

I’ve made the heads for several just (k)nits for others Kitty Beans backpack buddies but am using them for a work-in-public project and so haven’t added ears and tails. For some reason, I thought picking up stitches for these might not be so easy. I plan to knit one more of these before starting Owl Puffs.All of these are knit on US size 5 needles using Berroco Vintage, Cascade 220 and miscellaneous scraps.

In just (k)nits casting on–well, it’s a book review but we all know that southparknitter doesn’t like or do book reviews–my friend, Tina, who owns Gate City Yarns came back from TNNA with an advance copy of Chris de Longpre’s book 52 Timeless Toys to Knit.2014-06-12 08.20.09 She gave the book to our friend, Patsy, who has been creating critters from this book and mixing and matching pieces to make other critters (follow the link) to see them.. Everyone who saw the book or Patsy’s creations had to have a book NOW!!! Personally I was pea-green with envy that Patsy had the book and even plotted a way to sneak Patsy’s away from her till mine was delivered to the shop (no, I would not steal it). Saturday, I purchased my copy and will be casting on these critters down the road. The fact that I added the book to my library means I liked it and that is as close to a book review as you’re gonna get. Gate City Yarns has one book left but can order more so, if you’re local, go get it.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “On Second Thought”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat