Once upon a time

Southparknitter had the goal of learning to design her own sweaters. I actually designed some pretty basic ones using The Sweater Workshop and, as you’ve read, I’m designing my current just (k)nits for fun project.  My reasoning was that the only way to knit the perfect sweater was to design it myself. Since then, I’ve bought many sweater patterns and knitted quite a few. Most of these have some attributes I love and some that I hate…in other words  they aren’t perfect. For example, next up in my sweater queue is Bloody Mary. I love the cable panels and the longer length and the ease but the neckline is too scoopy and I’m not overjoyed that it’s pieced. I don’t mind assembly but I’m lazy I’d rather make a raglan sleeve top down or bottom up. I think they’re more comfortable. Another reason to design my own is the gauge thing. In recent months my gauge has been a problem on some projects. I tend to knit loosely and changing to smaller needles to get the required gauge often yields a fabric or a finished object with which I’m not happy.  So I’ve decided to pursue my original goal. I’ll be using Barbara Walker’s Knitting from the Top Down and Shirley Paden’s Knitwear Design Workhop and Amy Herzog’s Knit to Flatter and information I’ve gained from experience and from classes I’ve attended.Yes I’ll still be using patterns sometimes and may improvise using parts of other patterns. I’m currently reading Barbara Walker’s book with the plan of using the cable panels from Bloody Mary to make a crew neck sweater.

My new just (k)nits for fun project is a South Park Design. I’m using my version of the Tulip Lace Stitch from Harmony Guides and the calculations from The Sweater Workshop to design a long-sleeve crew neck cardigan with raglan sleeves. I picked 3 stitch motifs I liked and made a small swatch with all three and decided that I liked Tulip Lace best because it had a “resting” purl row. I also liked the Whelk Stitch which was a textured motif and will probably use it down the road.Using US size 5 needles and Quince and Co Chickadee made an “8×8” inch swatch 2014-05-24 09.39.39to determine gauge which I wet-blocked. After drying I determined that my gauge was 18 stitches and 30 rows 1quals 4 inches. I then determined the number of stitches to cast on taking into consideration that the pattern stitch uses a multiple of 8 plus 7 stitches. I also want to use a 2×2 rib ending and beginning with knit 2 and a selvedge stitch so I added a stitch so I have even number of stitches.The sweater colorway is Belize. I’ve changed the name of this project several times and have settled on South Park Lindsay. I love serial mysteries so will be naming my improvised and design projects for mystery heroines or authors. Here’s a back view of sweater so far. 2014-05-27 07.49.12

Along with the sweater I’m knitting just (k)nits for others backpack buddies. I’ve decided to may 10 unibody dudes, 10 kitty beans2014-05-27 07.47.41 and 10 owl puffs. I’ll be working on these at night when I tend to make mistakes on more involved projects that result in trips to frogpond. I’m using Cascade 220 and US size 5 needles for all of these.  I’m posting my first kitty beans and will post group pictures for time to time but will report them as just (k)nits bound off.

Speaking of just (k)nits bound off Jailbait sweater is finished and blocked and just needs a button. This is made US size 2 and 4 needles and Berroco Linsey. This was originally going to be Severi which I frogged because I was unhappy with it. I used The Sweater Workshop and reworked the yoke to make a raglan cardi.2014-05-24 13.31.09 I also blocked the Grenadine. I steamblocked and need to wet block it. I also decided that it needs a couple of small buttons  in the yoke area. 2014-05-25 19.15.20

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Once upon a time”


  1. 1 Mary Hess May 27, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    Will love watching your designer sweater evolve…..love the stitch and color so far! Seeing your finished Linsey reminds me to get mine out!…..really like their colors.

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


