Don’t mess with Mother Nature

Last post I stated I was going to cut back to one post a week and then I disappear for two weeks. The first week I was under the weather but I’m good now. The moral of this story is don’t mess with Mother Nature (whine about her) or she’ll put you under the weather. I didn’t knit for a couple of days and then a couple of days I did serious sleepknitting. And then I had a full day of negative knitting (stinking tinks and frogs) due to my inability to focus. I rearranged my knit plan so that I wasn’t sleepknitting deadline knits. I didn’t really have any projects to show from that week and then decided to finish the library display critters and decided to wait and post when they were finished.  2014-04-13 19.16.47 2014-04-13 19.17.05

The stinking tinks and frogs were the result of my decision to modify the hem of  my just (k)nits for fun  Grenadine (Bailey’s Irish Cream) and use the cable lace pattern as the hem rather than folded hem. This required mathematical skills that were beyond the capabiities of my recuperating brain. First I didn’t cast on the right number of stitches, then left out a row, then failed to change the direction of the cables. I’m on track now and using US size 5 needles and Quince and Co Chickadee in Pomegranate colorway. I’ve finished about 4 inches. I’ve also finished one sleeve but will frog it and use a US size 6 needle to knit the sleeves.2014-04-13 09.18.12

My just (k)nits for others were another Maggie the Mama Owl in Malabrigo Rios Jupiter and Lavanda colorway and another Basic Uni-Body in Cascade 220. Both are knit on US size 5 needles. I’ll be knitting quite a few Uni-bodies for use as “backpack buddies” so like the owls I’ll post pictures when I’ve finished 4 or 5 of them. I think I have two more owls to make.2014-04-08 08.24.12

Just (k)nits bound off…all the library display critters are finished. I bound off Compact Cat in Pajamas using Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted in The Grinch in Whoville and Cindy Lou Who Pink. Meager Mouse was knit from GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome Little Bunny Foo Foo. Small Squirrelwas also knit from GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome Lady Camo.2014-04-09 07.49.07 Micro Monkey was knit from Dancing Dog Dyeworks Squish n Shout in Baby Bacon and Tealicious. All were knit on US size 5 needles.

Now for the just (k)nits casting on.. Now the library pieces are done I’ll be cutting back to small project Saturdays. I plan to finish my Russian socks which have been patiently hibernating. I did work on them a bit Friday evening after I finished Micro Monkey.2014-04-10 18.29.31 I plan to take next Saturday off to play catch up on the Grenadine so won’t have small-project Saturday until April 26. Once the socks are finished I’m just (k)nits casting on Frances the Sock Wearing Fox in Leading Men Fiber Arts Box Office The Fox Says What? colorway.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.2014-04-12 08.12.53

0 Responses to “Don’t mess with Mother Nature”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


