Last gasp

at last!!! I’ve tried not to complain about winter too much because all of us have had a severe winter. Here in North Carolina she gasped her last (I hope) Sunday morning. I checked the temperature before getting dressed and determined that long-sleeves would be appropriate and no jacket necessary. When I trotted out my front door two hours later, I realized I was wrong. It was snowing. Of course, I’m running late so have time to return to the house for a jacket. Fortunately that part of my shawl collection that doesn’t live in a drawer rides around in my car so I threw one around me and journeyed on. Now enough about knitwear and winter and on to (k)nits and spring.2014-03-29 17.04.52

Just (k)nits bound off this weekend were Bantam Bunny in GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Little Bunny Foo Foo, Lil Love Slug2014-03-31 08.04.58 in GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Wabbit Season Duck Season and Basic Uni-Body in Cascade 220. All made on US size 5 needles with eyes and noses from 6060eyes. I think arms and legs could be added to Lil Love Slug to make a frog and I may try that sometime. I have six more critters to knit for the library display and then I’ll finish my Russian socks. I’ve been working the critters on Friday and Saturday because I had a deadline but once they’re done. I’ll work small pieces on Saturdays only and just (k)nits for others on Sunday. The Basic Uni-body was this week’s just (k)nits for others. Next week I’ll make another Maggie the Mama Owl.

 

My still in progress just (k)nits for fun is my Grenadine sweater.2014-03-31 08.04.49 The pattern is Bailey’s Irish Cream using Quince & Co Chickadee in Pomegranate colorway. When I swatched this piece, I determined that I should use US size 5 needles for the sleeves and US 4 needles for the body. After knitting most of sleeve 1, I now think I’ll use US size 5 needles for the body and US 6 needles for the sleeves. Sleeve 1 is tighter than I like my sleevesI plan to knit the sweater body next and then will knit sleeve 2 and possibly sleeve 1 again.2014-03-31 08.05.53 Also, I’ll be modifying the sweater a bit. I’m no fan of  folded hems. So I’ll be working a lace pattern repeat as the hem on the sweater. I like the look of this on the sleeves. I also will not have a faux seam (don’t like these either) or waist shaping (don’t need this) .

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Last gasp”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


