Ain’t no cure

for the wintertime blues. Yep we’ve all got them and are all about over winter and ready for spring. I love winter and even I’ve had enough. I’ve spent a lot of time dealing with cleaning off the car and shoveling snow and rearranging my days because work or appointments were changed which means less knitting. I am hoping that spring will cure these blues and the sooner the better. Now enough whining let’s talk about the (k)nits.

My “big” just (k)nits for fun project, Severi, is moving right along. I’m on the fifth yoke box. I failed to count every five rows which resulted in a visit to the frog pond. I’m trying to finish a box a day but may not make it today. My plan was to finish it this week but that will not happen. I’m not thrilled with the way this sweater looks. The yoke boxes have ladders which I’m hoping will go away when blocked. Also I’m afraid that I won’t have enough yarn. I’m on my last skein out of 3 and have finished four and a half boxes so not sure that I have enough to finish the last 2.5.2014-03-18 17.43.01 The colorway is discontinued and none is listed for destash on Ravelry. I may have to finish the center of the last box with one of the solids. I bought the quantity suggested by the pattern.

Over the weekend, I just (k)nits bound off Basic Bowling Pin Body in Dancing Dog Dyeworks  Waltz Worsted2014-03-18 17.44.06 The Grinch in Whoville colorway on US size 5 needles. I also just (k)nits bound off another Maggie the Mama Owl in Malabrigo Rios Jupiter and Lavanda colorways on US size 5 needles. This yarn makes very nice fabric for softies so I’ll be using it often when Gate City Yarns has it.

Still in just (k)nits for fun is 2014-03-18 17.44.35Small Peanuts Elephant in Another Crafty Girl Merino Worsted Our New Home colorway and Cascade 220 using US size 5 needles.  I’m hoping to finish before Friday but that is not looking good right now. If not, I’ll finish her up with just (k)nits casting on, Flyspeck Fox, Runty Raccoon and another Cutie Cactus.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

2 Responses to “Ain’t no cure”


  1. 1 Missy's Crafty Mess March 20, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    The sweater is coming along beautifully. I hope you have enough yarn. I love your little critters.

  2. 2 southparknitter March 20, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    Thanks i divided yarn into two equal balls and have enough of one of the solids to work box centers.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


