Robots and cacti and owls…oh my!

If you remember, I decided a couple of weeks ago to try working my just (k)nts for fun sweater project Mondays through Thursdays and then work smaller projects Friday and Saturday and just (k)nits for others on Sundays. Right now this means I have critter weekends because I’m working the softies from Rebecca Danger’s 50 Yards of Fun for a display.This will continue probably through mid-April and seems to be working better for me than working a bit on each project every day.

Friday I just (k)nits bound off Bitsy Bot 2014-03-01 16.42.28who was knit on US size 5 needles using GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome Wabbit Season Duck Season and scraps of Cascade 220. The antenna is supposed to be an i-cord knit around a chenille stem. I’ve made this critter two times and both times have had a fail. The first time I knit the antenna then the other appendages and the stem got pushed into the body of Bitssy somehow. This time I had trouble getting the i-cord to cover the stem so I removed it. The antenna stands up fine and is safer for small kids.

On Saturday I just (k)nits bound off  Cutie Cactus  on US size 5 needles using Cascade 220. The clay pot is a 1.5 inch pot and is available at box craft supply stores. I’m not going to name which one because, frankly, I don’t like any of them and only shop there for when absolutely necessary.2014-03-04 09.05.22

On Sunday I just (k)nits bound off another Maggie the Mama Owl. This one is number seven and is from Malabrigo Rios Jupiter and Lavanda colorways on US size 5 needles. I haven’t used this yarn for softies but really liked it. It is soft and makes a nice fabric. 2014-03-04 09.03.58I’m getting a bit bored with the owls so will alternate a few shut-in critters or backpack buddies with them till the last 4 are finished. I have plenty of time to finish these. Here’s a group photo for owls 5, 6, and 7.

Monday found me just (k)nitting for fun my Severi in Berroco Linsey (sorry I still haven’t looked up the color name). I knit a couple of inches yesterday. I’m using US size 4 needles for the body. As you can see Stash was doing his job as knit inspector. (Actually he was begging to go outside.)2014-03-04 09.00.48

Till next time, no tinks, no frogs, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Robots and cacti and owls…oh my!”


  1. 1 Mary Hess March 4, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    Oooooop…..love the sweater color!!! Did Stash sleep last nite even tho he missed his morning time outside? Getting ready to bindoff center of the sweater!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


