Make it go ’round

Several years ago, I attempted to knit a pair of socks with some intarsia on the leg. I had a Cat Bordhi book that had some instructions on several different methods to do this. If you’re not familiar with how intarsia works, it’s colorwork and you basically drop color A and then use color B to knit stitches and then attach more yarn to go back to A or color C. This is usually worked flat and in the round presents a problem as the working thread is at the end of the “work area.”2014-01-22 07.45.06 I picked what I thought would be the easiest method and wrecked my train. At that point, I swore off intarsia in the round…or so I thought. Both Nano Ninja and Little Luchador require use of intarsia in the round. So I hopped over to youTube and found a video tutorial on how to do this. The tutor used short rows and obviously I was able to make it go ’round and finish these toys. It was quite simple which I should have realized since every active 1950s knitter knit argyle socks . Ms Bordhi did offer short rows as a method of working intarsia in the round but I was hadn’t learned how the wraps work at that point in my knitting life. Speaking of Little Luchador, he is now just (k)nits bound off.

I cast on and just (k)nits bound off the Basic Biscuit Body using US size 5 needles and2014-01-24 08.14.25 Another Crafty Girl Merino Worsted in Bork Bork Bork colorway. I love this yarn and the colorway. I’m also thinking that I’ll use it for Not-Big Guinea Pig which is just (k)nits casting on next and also requires intarsia.

I’m still just (k)nitting for fun Mr Bluejeans in Malabrigo Rios in Jupiter colorway on US size 5 needles. This is one of those colorways that looks different colors in different lights. 2014-01-23 18.11.48 ‘m working the applied edging and realized earlier in the week that it had twice as many rows as I’d calculated so finishing this by opening ceremony of the Olympics is probably not happening. I should be able to work it while watching…maybe.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Make it go ’round”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


