I shoulda known better

than to knit and swatch and start knitting the project without washing and blocking the swatch. But I did. I cast on my just (k)nits for fun New Year’s Day cast on, Mr Bluejeans, without washing my swatch. What makes this worse was that I knew that the yarn, Malabrigo Rios, “bloomed” (got bigger) when washed. I was so excited to finally “get gauge” and so happy to be casting on a “me-knit”
sweater that I just started (k)nitting away. I cast on January 1 and on Saturday, January 4, I was at Gate City Yarns and heard Tina tell a customer to be sure to wash her swatch because the yarn grew. *Head slap*…I realized that I had a problem. I didn’t think it was a major problem because it’s a top down sweater and I could just use the increases for a size smaller. Since the cast on was only 6 stitches more than the smaller size, I wouldn’t have to frog. Then I came home and washed the swatch. It bloomed not the little bit I’d hoped but it grew 25%!!! My gauge before the wash was 4.5 stitches per inch, after it was 3.5 stitches per inch. I’d have to drop down two sizes and didn’t feel comfortable with that. Judging from the size of the washed swatch, I decided to swatch with US size 5 needles. After swatching, washing and blocking, I’m much more comfortable with this gauge. I’ll wait and check again when the swatches dry and decide for sure then but I think I’ll be frogging and starting over wit2014-01-05 15.58.54h US size 5 needles. I’m an experienced knitter and I shoulda known better.(Yeah Stash photo-bombed the picture)

I’ve been just (k\)nitting for fun my Twelve Stripes of Christmas socks in Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien using US size 0 needles. I started out working 11 rows of each striping colorway and 3 rows of red. I did the math wrong on this one and think a better choice would have been to work 11 rows of ea ch striping colorway and use the red for toes, heels and cuffs. On the legs I had to leave off the red. The left sock is finished through 11 pipers piping and the right through 10 lords a leaping. Obviously they are not finished by the end of twelfth day so they’ll now become my late night and in public project.2014-01-05 16.02.16

During 2014 I’ll be just (k)nitting for others on Sundays. I cast on a Maggie the Mama Owl using US size 5 needles and  Lorna’s Laces Robot Overlord and Classic Elite Liberty Wool.. These are for the high  school graduates at my church and the plan is to knit 11 of them. I thought it would take two Sundays to knit one but the first one is just (k)nits bound off. I suspect that I can actually knit 3 over 2 Sundays because I’d loved to have done some sleep (k)nitting this afternoon.2014-01-05 23.15.43

I just (k)nits bound off  the Pineland Vest in Universal Deluxe Worsted Superwash using US size 7 needles. This was my last finished object for 2013. All totalled I finished 80 projects in 2013. Many of these were toys which knit rather quickly. Even though I didn’t have a goal, I like to average 2 projects a month. Obviously in 2013 I was well above that mark.I’m not setting a number goal for 2014. I’m just going to (k)nit for fun.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

1 Response to “I shoulda known better”


  1. 1 atangledyarn84 January 6, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    Gauge is a fickle mistress lol


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


