2014 the year of just (k)nits for fun

2013 the year of monogamous random knitting  is almost over and I’ve been reflecting on the past year during the holidays. I’ve done a lot of knitting and even though rarely monogamous (having only one project) I kept it down to 2 or 3 at the most. I’ve also tried to stay away from deadline knitting. I’ve participated in a couple of knitalongs and still set personal deadlines (goals). I don’t stress when I don’t meet a deadline. i simply change the target date and keep knitting. I think I’ve done a good job of moving my knitting back to hobby status. I’ve also gradually weaned back to a single parttime job in 2013. I still hang out at Gate City Yarns and work when needed which is rare. So I’m once again semi-retired.

2014 will be the year of just (k)nits for fun. I’ll be just (k)nitting for fun with a bit of just (k)nits for others. This is a continuation of 2013’s knitting goals. At the moment I think just (k)nitting sweaters and critters from 50 Yards of Fun is fun so that’s what I’ll do. Just (k)nits in progress will now be called just (k)nits for fun. I’m not even going to set a stash enhancement goal. I’m trying to keep it down to a skein or two per month but yarn addiction is hard to control especially since I’m active on social media which is full of enabling pictures.

I’ve been just (k)nitting for fun my Pineland 2013-12-31 13.40.45vest in Universal Deluxe Worsted Superwash using US size 7 needles. I’m hoping that this will be just (k)nits bound off by the end of 2013 but it’s not looking very good right now. The reason I’m hoping to finish is because my New Year’s Cast On 2014 will be Mr Bluejeans using Malabrigo Rios in Jupiter colorway and US size 7 needles. Here’s a picture of my swatch. I’m buddy knitting this piece with a friend in Chicago. We’ve been planning this buddy knit since Fall 2012 and life kept getting in the way. The original plan was to use Classic Elite Majestic Tweed and I’ve 2013-12-31 13.37.26swatched several times and cast on once with that yarn but was never happy with my gauge. I bought the Malabrigo several months ago for another project but was able to swap some yarns around and think I’ll be happier with all the swaps. I’m hoping to be awake and cast on at Midnight. (I’m pretty sure if I do I’ll have a couple of sleep (k)nits earlier.)

I’m also just (k)nitting for fun The 12 Stripes of Christmas socks from Desert Vista Dyeworks Zien 2013-12-31 13.38.41base. These will be finished by 1/5 which is the 12th day. I’m a bit behind. The sock pictured is through day 5 and today is day 7. The other sock is through day 4. I’m using US size 0 needles and 66 stitches The suggested recipe was 56 stitches on US 1 needles. I prefer a  dense sock fabric so opted for the change. After reaching the afterthought heel placement I realized that I should have either knit 1 more row of red or 1 less and added day 6 to the foot. I will have enough yarn left to make mitts also.

I just (k)nits bound off Fractional Fish in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted in turtle, TURTLE colorway and using US size 5 needles. This is a thank you gift and the last of the just (k)nits for others until 2013-12-31 13.37.11Jauuary 5. In 2014 Sundays will be just (k)nits for others day s whether gifts or charity knits. I used this plan once upon a time and found it to be a good way to get gift/charity knits done.I think it will work better than working charity knits a couple of hours daily.

When I have one just (k)nits for fun project, I think this will be easier. I think I lose momentum when I have to switch projects on a daily basis. I’ve been trying to use Sunday as knit-whatever-you-want day but that never really happened on a regular basis and won’t be necessary during the year of just (k)nits for fun–right?

Now I really need to work on my Pineland so …

I hope that in 2014 you have no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits and a very happy new year!

0 Responses to “2014 the year of just (k)nits for fun”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


