Tis the night before Christmas

and all through the house all the gifts have been knitted…even a mouse. Yes they’re all just (k)nits bound off.  2013-12-22 08.51.18The last two were Compact Cat in Non-public clothes (pajamas) in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted RetroLemon an d Cascade 220 and Micro Monkey in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Squish n Shout in Baby Bacon and Tealicious colorways. All were knit on US size 5 needles. 2013-12-24 13.17.40

In just (k)nits for others now is Fractional Fish in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted in turtle, TURTLE colorway with accents in Cascade 220. I’m using US size 5 needles. This is a thank-you gift and I thought it would be a quick knit before starting my “me (k)nits” week which will probably start Thursday.2013-12-24 13.17.56
I plan to cast on a pair of plain vanilla toe-up afterthought heel socks using the 12 Stripes of Christmas kit using Desert Vista Dyeworks recipe for striping sequence. I will however use 66 stitches and US size  0 needles. I swatched  with 56 stitches and US size 1 needles and just did not like the fabric and thought they’d be too small. I hope to work on these a bit on the first day but I may not cast on unitl the second day.

My just (k)nits in progress Pineland vest is moving right along. I’m about an inch from dividing for armholes. I’m using US size 7 needles and Universal Yarn Deluxe Worsted Superwash in Lime colorway. This is some sample yarn I’m testing for my LYS. I hope to finish this by year’s end.2013-12-24 13.17.20

January 1 I’ll be just (k)nits casting on Mr Bluejeans. This is a piece a friend and I will be “buddy” knitting. We’ve been trying to get it done since fall 2011 and life has intervened. I think I’ve swatched three times and cast on once time and frogged because gauge was too big. Saturday I swatched again and have decided to use Malabrigo Rios in Jupiter colorway which I’d bought for another project. The Majestic Tweed is better suited to another project so I shuffled yarns around a bit but it’s all for the best. I haven’t swatched with Rios but should be able to get 4.5 stitches per inch with US 7 needles. I’ll let you know when I post next which will be New Year’s day.

So…MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND TO ALL A GOOD (K)NIT!

0 Responses to “Tis the night before Christmas”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


