Let them wear cakes

yarn cakes that is…magic yarn cakes. I’ve been looking for a solution to those leftover bits of sock/fingering weight yarn from socks and shawls. Some make scarves or blankets with them. I ruled out blankets early on when I knit about 3 squares on a mitered sock yarn blanket and decided that was going to take too long. Lately I’ve been mulling over the barn-raising square blanket but those squares have to be assembled. I also hadn’t ruled out using the remains for scarves for charity but just hadn’t started. One of my knitting friends suggested burning them and my brain screamed YARN ABUSE. A couple of weeks ago my friend, Paula Emons-Fuessle, aka prairiepiper and hostess of Knitting Pipeline audio podcast released a pattern for Magic Cake Ruffle Shawl. One gathers up one’s leftovers, weighs them and joins them using the magic knot and cakes them in whatever weight cake one wants. I’ll probably make 150 gram plus cakes. Tutorial on cake making is here. I’m gathering all my bits and pieces with hope that this will be post-holidays just (k)nits for others.`

I’d also like to add here that I met Paula at SSK 2012. She is a delightful and gracious lady. If you check out her blog, you’ll see that she lives in Washington, Illinois which was affected by the tornadoes last week. She has been volunteering and helping where she can. My prayers and thoughts with those affected. As with other disasters, I’ll knit a charity project–maybe my first Magic Cake Ruffle Shawl–and give it to someone local to remember these folks. I think a monetary donation and a local knitted gesture is much better than sending folks handknits they can’t use.

Speaking of just (k)nits for others the critters/monsters that I’ve been gifting to those “in need” have been very well-received. They’re fun and cheery and don’t require special care. If you need something for a shut-in or sick person or someone who needs a hug, they’re the ticket.I will continue to make these for others along with shawls and throws. Which brings me to my current just (k)nit for othersItty-Bitty Batty.2013-11-21 21.55.19Actually it’s a just (k)nits bound off. I finished it late last night and used GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Wabbit Season Duck Season using US size 5 needles. Rebecca Danger who designed these animals uses the technique of picking up stitches for appendages and I really like this. It’s a bit tedious to get started but much better for me than sewing

I cast on Bitsy-Bot this afternoon and have finished the body, antenna and one arm. 2013-11-22 17.04.22The picture shows the body. I’m using Cascade 220 and US size 5 needles. The antenna is an i-cord worked around a chenille stem. My chenille stem slipped out but so far it’s standing up without it. Next time, I’ll knit the antenna last.

My just (k)nits in progress is the buttons cardigan which is a commission piece. I’m using Berroco Vintage DK and US size 5 needles. I hope to finish this by next post. I will then cast on a matching beanie hat. I still haven’t decided which to make. 2013-11-19 15.57.42

I’m having a non-public clothes “weekend” here. This means I’ll be hanging out at home and not venturing out in public except to go to church. So I will resume embellishing the stockings and may stash dive for sock yarn leftovers.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Let them wear cakes”


  1. 1 Mary Hess November 23, 2013 at 1:52 pm

    Love your clever blog title……as usual!!! Cool yarn cake method with double knots…..definitely a keeper!!!

    Luckily put in ‘lifeline’ for first fish heel attempt! Finally have my brain clear on the math and stitches and will get it done today for sure…….seems so much easier and faster than usual method and I think it will encourage me to go to toe up more often as well. Do you think it will ‘wear’ as well…..sturdy enuf??? Sure like the look. Pair I am working on is for Marie and will be anxious to do a pair for myself so I can experience ‘the feel’ you described.

    Had a great updates email from Tina…..relieved that both she and Reece are improving! Surprised and yet not surprised she has been planning to close shop…..she assumed I knew. Have long been concerned how she could keep up nursing job and the shop…..knowing nursing has to be primary for benefits and retirement planning etc. Sounds tho like new employees are working so well that she might at last release some control and give herself a break to focus better on things she is best at etc. Her own health is primary…..and Reece is big part of that even tho we all know we have to endure their loss at some point. Was sooo good to have a more upbeat note from her.

    Have a wonderful stay-at-home weekend!!!!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


