Thank you for being my friend

is the name of one of my just (k)nits to be colorways and I thought it a good title. I’m thankful that all of you are my friends. So thank you for being my friend.2013-11-15 18.18.54 The yarn came from Knitters Nightmare and is Sadie’s Boogieman sock base. I don’t usually buy earthtone colors but seem to be acquiring a lot of those lately. I tend to jeweltones and brights and speaking of brights I also received some Rainbow Stripe2013-11-15 18.19.34 from Friday Studios on her Monday base. Both of these will be socks down the road.

And speaking of socks, I’m still just (k)nitting in progress the Eggnog Socks. 2013-11-15 16.36.57These are using Fish Lips Kiss Heel. The marker shows where I was last post.Someone asked if I made the cardboard template of my foot. The answer is no. I knit the first pair cuff down and was able to measure the foot from the heel so worked foot until I was 1.5 inches short of my foot length then started my toe. How long you work foot depends on how long you make your toe. Some folks use a shorter toe than I do. The Eggnog socks are toe up and I measured the heel on the Halloween socks and estimate the heel is 2 inches. So I’m knitting the foot to 2 inches short of my desired length then start my heel. I did try them on before I worked the cuff to make sure that was correct. I’ve finished sock 1 and will cast on sock 2 as work-in-public project. I will hopefully be just (k)nits casting on my commission piece if the yarn comes today.

The commission piece is a Buttons Cardigan and some type of Beanie hat with NC State buttons on it. I’m probably going to improvise hat pattern. The customer requested Berroco Vintage DK 2013-11-15 16.38.48and the first colorway I ordered was not a good Wolfpack red so I re-ordered. I’ll use the other two skeins for Milo vests down the road. The Buttons Cardigan is a fairly quick knit so I’m allowing about a week to knit the whole project.

I’m also casting on a new just (k)nits for others. Cutie cactus2013-11-15 16.35.11 is now a just (k)nits bound off. I used US size 5 needles and Cascade 220. I’m hoping to find some 3-inch flower pots and will put some peppermint or fruit hard candy in the pot and use cactus for “lid.” I think this will be a cute gift for sick folks or those who need a bit of cheer. This was an easy and fun knit. The next project will be Itty-Bitty Batty2013-11-15 16.37.26 using GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Wabbit Season Duck Season. I’m trying to use up bits and pieces rather than wind a new skein. They’re toys so it doesn’t matter what color they are.

Stash can even sleep knit standing on his head.2013-11-14 16.51.24

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

2 Responses to “Thank you for being my friend”


  1. 1 Mary Hess November 16, 2013 at 12:05 am

    Hmmmm…….Stash ‘sleep guarding’ your pretty new yarns!!!???

    >

  2. 2 Patsy November 18, 2013 at 12:17 am

    Love the cactus, and Stash’s sleeping contorsions.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


