A day apart

Once upon a time, I used to set aside one day a week as a day apart or sabbath day.  Usually I did this on Sunday just for convenience and ease. Let me say here that I am a Christian and do believe that Sabbath should be a day of rest, that it goes beyond going to worship service and  that it is more an attitude. I’m using the phrase “day apart” here because not everyone sees things that way and I respect that. Those of you who follow me on Facebook and Instagram know that I send a wish for grace and peace so that all may have a quiet Sunday. That’s a part of my getting into attitude.

On my day apart I did things I enjoyed–crafting, knitting, sleeping, reading, movie watching, eating. If, for some reason, I didn’t set apart Sunday, I set apart another day.Notice I said “did,” Since January 1, I’ve been reflecting a lot about what should be important in my life. As a apart of this I’ve removed a lot of stressors and came to realize that my day apart had been more or less eliminated. Since the first of August, I’ve gradually started having my day apart again. I’m finding that having that day is necessary for my personal health and well-being. I try to finish all errands and housework on Saturday so Sunday can be my day apart.

This weekend I realized that I needed to make my day apart knit-whatever-you-want day. So yesterday I chose my two favorite projects, Eggnog socks and Bitty Bee, and worked on those. I don’t plan to have a special project but will pick a favorite from my current projects. 2013-11-11 08.34.21 Bitty Bee is now a just (k)nits bound off. Bitty is made from GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Witches Brew and Cascade 220. on US size 5 needles. I’m enjoying the knits from Rebecca Danger’s 50 yards of Fun. Just (k)nits casting on from this will be Cutie Cactus on US size 5 needles using Cascade 220.

Eggnog socks are moving right along. I’m using Fibernymph Bounce in The Elves Were in the Eggnog colorway and using fish lips  kiss heel from the toe-up. This is also a fun knit.  2013-11-11 16.20.01The socks which are really my work-in-public project will get some love and attention until later in the week when I receive yarn for a commission piece. I didn’t want to work on Guinevere socks and then have to put them back to sleep. Hopefully by Thanksgiving week I’ll be able to wake these up.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits!

1 Response to “A day apart”


  1. 1 Mary Hess November 11, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    Love the eggnog sox!!! First snow of the season…..all white out my window! Fortunately temporary as tomorrow sunny but cold…..hoping no icy sidewalks in the morning! Glad you are learning to ‘be good to yourself’!!!!

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


