Gauge Fail

I don’t swatch when I knit socks. I figure that I could knit half the foot or leg in the time I’d spend swatching. I’ve knit quite a few socks so know about what my gauge will be and haven’t had any problems until Groovy Socks. I mentioned last post that I wished that I’d used US size 1 needles for the leg. The cuff and leg were tight but I kept knitting thinking that the foot would be okay. NOT!!! Once I finished the heel and knit a couple of inches of the foot I tried the sock on and found it way too tight. 2013-10-20 23.22.33So I visited the frogs and pulled out my US size 1 needles and cast on again. This time the gauge is right. I didn’t realize how much the decreases in the pattern would tighten the fabric. In past I’ve used US size 1 needles for socks with cables or crossed stitches. So lesson learned. I’ll use 0 needles for plain vanillas and 1s for everything else. I’ve spent the weekend just (k)nitting in progress  sock 1 version 2 and have just finished the heel and am on to the foot. I’m loving the pattern and love the Fish Lips Kiss Heel and the yarn.

My blob is just (k)nits bound off. I used GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Do Ewe Lurve me? colorway and US size 5 needles. The eyes are from 6060 eyes. I still have to cut a mouth and glue it. I enjoyed this pattern and will knit it again.2013-10-20 23.23.01

My next just (k)nits for others will be Maggie the Mama Owl. I’m not sure what yarn I’ll use.

I’m pretty sure that my just (k)nits casting on will be Christmas socks. Since the gauge fail resulted in a 3-day reverse on the Groovy Socks, completion of another pair of Halloween socks before the 31st is unlikely. I’ll use self-striping and probably will knit another pair with afterthought heels. I used this heel and love the way it looks but didn’t like the way they “fit.” I’m finding that after some wear they fit better so I’ll give them another try. I’ll stash dive for some yarn.

I received some just (k)nits to be from Fibernymph Dye Works which is a club shipment so I’ll wait till next post which will probably be Saturday or Sunday. I’ll be at SAFF Thursday and Friday.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Gauge Fail”


  1. 1 Mary Hess October 21, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    Is there a gusset on the fish heel? Love the colors and design.

    >


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


