Feelin’ Groovy

I’ve just (k)nits bound off my Halloween Socks in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Glitter Paws Tricks or Treats on US size 0 needles. I started out this project using Blurred Lines pattern with OMG heel.2013-10-17 21.44.44 Basically I didn’t like the pattern. Either I have issues or the pattern does. Other knitting friends have used the pattern and technique and loved it. I didn’t. I frogged sock 1 back to start of gusset and used a slip stitch heel with a gusset. In hind sight I should have used Cat Bordhi’s tomato heel which would have been quicker but I’m happy with the gusset and heel which is still my favorite.

I immediately wound Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso in Zombody says Boo! colorway and cast on Groovy Socks on my US size 0 needles. I’ll be using a fish lips kiss heel on these. This technique is getting rave reviews from all who use it. The pattern has lots of good information for new sock knitters and is well worth the $1 investment.  While I still prefer my slip stitch heel and gusset, I also liked this heel treatment and will use it again. I love the Groovy socks pattern. It’s a simple easy to remember two-row pattern so can my worked in public without dragging out the pattern. I do wish I’d used my US size 1 needles for the cuff and leg. (I keep forgetting I can do that.) All-in-all this just (k)nits in progress project has me feelin’ groovy.Apparently Stash feels pretty groovy because he was photo bombing big fashion tonight.2013-10-17 23.27.01 HDR

I’m just (k)nitting for others an Adopt-a-Blob using GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Somebody Lurves Ewe colorway on US size 5 needles. Next up for others is another Maggie the Mama Owlplw for a friend who keeps ooh-ing and aah-ing over the owls and who needs a hug right now. I’ve been stash-diving unsuccessfully for some leftover GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Witches Brew which I hope to use with some Cascade 220 for the head.2013-10-17 23.29.38 HDRib is getting a lot of thought right now. I’d hoped to knit a third pair of Halloween socks but I’m probably not going to be able to finish them by Halloween. I have a couple of intarsia stockings that need to be finished by December 1. I also hoped to wake up the Guinevere socks on November 1. So I may postpone the Halloween socks and finish Guinevere and the stockings and cast on some Christmas socks to work-in-public.

The postal carrier brought some just (k)nits to be from Desert Vista Dyeworks. The colorway on the left is  2013-10-17 23.27.38 HDRLaduree Macaroons in Viso and the one on the right is Spun2tight’s Trick or Treat on Zion base stock.2013-10-17 23.28.16 HDR

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Feelin’ Groovy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


