Gonna rock some socks

I’m in sock knitting mode. I used to knit them all the time. Some folks thought that was all I knitted because socks were my work-in-public projects. The last couple of years I’ve knitted other things more and socks occasionally. For some reason in the last few weeks, I’ve been in major I-want-to-rock-some-socks mood. Maybe it’s all the talk about Socktober or maybe it’s the Instagram pictures of my friends modeling their Halloween socks. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve bought some self-striping sock yarn that I love. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m tired of huge garter stitch projects–color affection, Ecken+Kanten, color craving. All I know is that I want to knit socks. That is what is making me happy. So my just (k)nits casting on will be socks in Dia de los Muertos and Zombody says boo! colorways from Desert Vista Dyeworks and finishing the Guinevere socks. I haven’t really decided on the patterns for my DVD socks but am considering Groovy socks and Caffe Macchiato socks.

Before I can cast on more socks, I have some just (k)nits in progress that must be finished. I’m in such a major sock knitting mood that I considered putting the Color Craving into hibernation.2013-10-04 13.44.32 Clue 4 came out last night and, after reading it, I’m afraid that once it hibernates it will become a serious UFO. Mr West suggests a picot (PITA) bind-off. While he gives other options this is the preferred bind off which can be fiddly. I’m hoping that it will improve my opinion of this piece which I’m not loving. So I plan to let the Halloween socks hibernate until the Color Craving is bound off. I have finished sock 1 and started sock 2.2013-10-04 16.25.36 HDR

I’m just (k)nitting for others a lovie using the Moving Mountains pattern using US size 6 needles and Berroco Comfort. I hope to finish this mid-week. I think my next for others project will be a softie for someone local who needs cheering up–not sure who yet and not sure what pattern or yarn. A church bus from a nearby city was involved in a tragic accident in Tennessee.Sometimes I hear about a tragedy on the news that I moves me and I feel the need to grieve for folks I don’t even know. I’m praying for all affected–families of those in the other vehicles involved, families of church folks affected, injured, emergency workers and law enforcement. In addition to praying, I’ll be knitting the softie to remember them and grieve for them. Sometimes doing a random act of kindness is the best way to get over heartache.

My postal carrier has been busy this week delivering my just (k)nits to be. Wednesday I came home and opened the mailbox to two club shipments, a Fibernymph order and a Dancing Dog Dyeworks pre-order.2013-10-04 16.22.01The Tempted Pin-Up Girls shipment is lace weight and the pattern for this is Bogardus by Kirsten Kapur. Wooly Wonka Heroines accessory club is socks inspired by Alice in Wonderland.2013-10-04 16.21.48I really couldn’t resist Fibernymph‘s offering of a self striping colorway called Sheldon’s Challenge based on rock-paper-scissors-lizard-Spock from Big Bang Theory. 2013-10-04 16.21.28Dancing Dog Dyeworks…well, I’m not passing that up if I can catch an update. The colorways are Baby Bacon and Teallicious.Today I received my Follow the Yellow Brick Road from KirbyWirby Yarns. Scoring her self-striping is a bit like scoring Wollmeise a few years ago. I was cartjacked 4 times. 2013-10-04 16.20.09I have a couple of more pre-orders coming soon.

Till next time, no frogs,no tinks, just (k)nits.

2 Responses to “Gonna rock some socks”


  1. 1 kathy October 5, 2013 at 1:18 am

    Hey there! I’m working on the Craving Color, too! But I’m just starting Clue #3 because life’s been crazy. I just blogged about it, too. Love your colorway!! Can you believe some of those knitters are finished already?

    • 2 southparknitter October 5, 2013 at 4:28 am

      Three of us locally are knitting the SW MKAL together. We’ve also been amazed at how quickly some knit it up. Monday of last week one knitter was on clue 2, one on clue 1 and I had finished clue 3 but I’m single with no kids and have lots of time to knit. Thanks for your comments on my color choices. I started with one color and had my LYS friends help pick the others.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


