Amazon fail…but it’s all good

In late June I learned that Rebecca Danger had a new book that would release September 17 (Tuesday). Using the link to Amazon on Ravelry I pre-ordered the book. This was prior to my spending time with Rebecca at SSK 2013 or I would have ordered directly from her. I was really stoked about this book. Its title says it all 50 Yards of Fun. It has 36 patterns of toys that can be made with scrap yarn and will be just the ticket for knitting toys for shut-ins, sick folks and other folks that need a hug.So Tuesday I started stalking Amazon wondering why I hadn’t received a shipping notice. When I’ve pre-ordered in the past, I usually received the books on release date. Wednesday I still had no shipping notice so looked for a way to communicate with Amazon about this fail. I still haven’t figured this out. Thursday morning I received a notice that Amazon was having difficulty getting this book for me. What the flock???? What do you mean you’re having difficulty getting the book for me? I didn’t “special” order it. You (Amazon) listed it as an available pre-order.(This is not the first negative experience I’ve had with Amazon recently,) I promptly canceled the order and ordered from Rebecca’s etsy shop complete with autograph. I also noticed that I could get the book as a Ravelry download so I bought that too. So while Amazon might have failed me, It’s all good—actually better because I have e-book and an autograph.

So Thursday afternoon was the church (k)nitting group which is all about just (k)nits for others. So I cast on a basic peanut body2013-09-20 17.22.03 from Rebecca’s book using some Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in Robot Overlord  using US size 5 needles.  It is now hibernating. This hibernation is a result of the Westknits’ Mystery Shawl KAL 2013:Color Craving taking up all the Just (k)nits in progress time.

I’m using Cascade Heritage Silk and Cascade Heritage Sock and US size 6 needles to knit the Color Craving.2013-09-20 17.20.33 I had hoped to finish clue 1 before clue 2 released. That didn’t happen. I also hoped that I could work on this piece during half of my allotted Just (k)nits in progress time. That didn’t happen either. I’m not feeling the love for this piece but hopefully it will be redeemed in future clues. The picture is almost finished clue 1.Reading through clue 2 revealed that next week will be more of the same.

The Halloween sock hibernated all week but I did work on the Milo quite a bit..2013-09-20 17.22.41 I’ve finished one owl repeat and started the next. I’m trying to work on it during Just (k)nits for others time which is okay because it’s a gift. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to finish it by Sunday–Monday at the latest.

Once the Milo is finished, I’ll be finishing my Basic Peanut Body which I think I’ll call Robot the Peanut and will be waking up the Halloween Sock.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Amazon fail…but it’s all good”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


