Twist and shout

I finished a couple of projects since last post. As I was finishing them, I realized that Honey Cowl would be a quick knit for a secret event coming up next week. So I did a stash dive and came up with leftover Dream in Color Everlasting DK and cast on. I’m using US size 8 needles and am making the longer version of the cowl/infinity scarf so decided to use my 32-inch Addis. The piece is knit in the round and I checked to be sure I didn’t twist the stitches and started knitting. About halfway around I realized that the Addis were too long and switched to some shorter needles. I continued to knit with the shorter needles and after about three rows realized the stitches were twisted. I frogged and decided to cast on the short version so that I could finish in time. I worked a couple of rounds and again discovered the stitches were twisted and didn’t like the short version so frogged again. This time I used my Chiao Goo interchangeables with 40 inch cable because I thought the lace tip would be better because the yarn’s a bit splitty. I also used a cable cast on which made it easier to knit the first round. At o’dark thirty, I realized that I’d twisted the stitches again. At that point I shouted ARRRGGHHHH!!! I frogged and started another cast on which I didn’t finish till this morning. After work I made my join this time laying the needle and stitches on a flat surface and triple checking. I also checked several times while knitting the first couple of rounds. This time I successfully joined but cast on 30 extra stitches. 2013-08-30 18.25.57I’m going to leave those. This time the shout was one of glee. This pattern calls for the piece to be 12 inches wide but I’m going to make mine 8 inches which I think better for the infinity scarf. This is my only Just (k)nits in progress. The Halloween socks are my work-in-public project and are sleeping right now.

I have a couple of Just (k)nits bound off. I finished my Antler Cardigan “do-over” and am very pleased with the outcome. I need to find buttons for this piece. I used US size 6 and 8 for the sleeves and size 5 and 7 for the body. The yarn is Berroco Comfort.2013-08-30 18.29.08 I also finished my Ecken+Kanten and really love the way this piece turned out. The color segues are more subtle under artificial light but really pop in the sun. I used size 3.0 mm needles and the yarn is Kauni 8/2 Effektgarn.2013-08-30 18.31.17

The cardigan was my Just (k)nits for others project. Since I had difficulty with casting on the honey cowl, I didn’t do any charity knitting today. I’ll be casting on a Sam the S^2C (stand up to cancer) Frog (aka Super Frog). I’ll use US size 5 needles. I think I bought some bright green yarn at SSK from Another Crafty Girl but can’t remember the name of the colorway. I also have some green Cascade 220 and Berroco Vintage. I’ll decide tomorrow which I’ll use. Sam’s cape will be blue which is the recipient’s favorite color.

Just (k)nits casting on will be turtle, TURTLE in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted turtle, TURTLE colorway. This is a gift for my friend, Susan, who loves turtles.2013-08-29 08.56.17

I’m still trying to get a picture of both cats together for my header and they’re getting closer. They still “fight” sometimes but we’re all adjusting well. Stash has finally started to sleep at night.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Twist and shout”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


