Chair Wars

Reality television has all kinds of shows that are wars between chefs or crafters or designers or decorators. At my house we’ve been having chair wars. This is my spinning chair which is a straight back chair that my dad either re-caned or had re-caned.2013-08-22 18.05.42 I have a couple and they’re just the right height for spinning and weaving and other crafting. I put my sheepskin on it. I originally intended to use the sheepskin in the recliner but Debit started chewing and pulling the wool out of it so I moved it to the spinning chair. Izzy discovered that it was a warm soft place to sleep and, when I spin, I’d have to “dump” her out of the chair. Lately Izzy’s been sleeping elsewhere so Stash claimed this spot when he came. As you can see, he’s really quite comfortable there. 2013-08-22 19.05.22I only wish he’d sleep there more late at night when I’m trying to sleep. Yesterday I set my knitting bag in the chair. 2013-08-22 18.06.14Stash slept in the chair with the bag for a while. Later in the afternoon, I noticed him crawling in the bag. Before I could get to a stopping spot so I could get him out, he rolled over so that the bag was top heavy and toppled from the chair. He then got out of the bag and hopped back up in the chair and went to sleep. Stash has now been proclaimed victor in chair wars. (Of course, I’ll still make him move when I spin.)

I spent a great deal of time working in public this week so the Halloween sock was the focus of Just (k)nits in progress most of the week. It’s Dancing Dog Dyeworks Glitter Paws in Tricks or Treats colorway on US size 0 needles. 2013-08-22 18.10.53

I also made some progress on Ecken+Kanten. I didn’t really like the way the Kauni 8/2 Effektgarn looked. Under the artificial light in the house, the color differences weren’t as pronounced as I wanted. When I took it outside, I realized the colors looked better than I thought. I’m almost finished with the second section and am using size 3.0 mm needles.2013-08-22 18.09.19

I’m making another Antler Cardigan in a size 6 to 12 months to replace the one that the Tea Leaves cardigan bled on. I had two skeins of Berroco Comfort in stash in a very pale pink and so am using that on US size 6 and 8 needles. I may use US 5 and 7 needles for the body, The sleeves are in the round and my gauge is tighter than “flat” knitting. This is a Just (k)nits for others. 2013-08-22 18.10.13

One of my Instagram friends posted a picture of a backpack buddy she made for her daughter using this pattern. I loved that idea and have decided to make them for the kids at my church for 2014-15 school year. I may use this pattern and make apples for the teachers. I’m caught up on prayer shawls/throws so have some time to knit softies which are fairly quick. I’ll probably knit some apples after the Antler is finished.

As promised, I have a picture of my Just (k)nits to be Fibernymph Dyeworks Yarn club shipment. The theme is “It’s the little things” and this colorway is The Colors of Happiness. It certainly made me happy. I’m thinking about making my Miss Winkle with it.2013-08-22 18.08.28

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits

1 Response to “Chair Wars”


  1. 1 Mary Hess August 23, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    Stash looks like he is growing fast…..looks big on the chair. Like the Halloween colors.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


