In remission

One of the drawbacks of being a product (monogamous) knitter is castonitis–that terrible need to cast on every project I see or any project other than the one I’m knitting. I’m pretty good about not casting on new things until the old ones are finished. I try to keep it down to three projects–one charity, one work in public/sleep knitting and one lace or “involved” project. Today I have a Just (k)nits bound off. I finished my Puppies in the Dyepots Sweet Tomato Heel socks.2013-08-15 22.20.54I tried a new technique to prevent holes where the heel joined the top of the foot. It worked fairly well but I’m still not overjoyed with this heel treatment so probably won’t use it again. Megan Williams has a new heel technique that I want to try next time. I used US size 0 needles and the yarn is Desert Vista Dyeworks Viso. I love this yarn which is a good thing because I have bought quite a bit of Susan’s yarn lately.

This means that I have a new Just (k)nits in progress and that castonitis is in remission.2013-08-15 22.11.05 I cast on Ecken+Kanten using Kauni 8/2 Effektgarn in EQ colorway. I’m using size 3.0 mm needles. Some consider these to be US size 2.5 and some US size 2. I love Martina Behm’s designs and have purchased quite a few of her patterns which are in the queue but this is the first I’ve knit. It’s a multi-directional piece and I knit section 1 until 25% of the yarn is used. In this case about 40 grams. The yarn is a long striping “color change” yarn so I took a picture of the end of the skein. 2013-08-15 22.10.07

The Chubby Chirp is still sleeping. I’m not sure why I’m having such difficulty waking up this piece (might have been a symptom of castonitis). Hopefully I’ll finish it over the weekend.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “In remission”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


