Fall down, go boom

I spent most of last week at SSK 2013 at Scarritt Bennett Center in Nashville. The retreat is hosted by my friends, Laura Linneman and Leslie Thompson  aka The Knit Girllls. And I fell down literally and figuratively. My bed at home is a full bed. The beds at Scarritt Bennett were at a small twin (really closer to a cot) so Wednesday about 2 am I rolled of the bed and landed face first in the floor. Fortunately I wasn’t hurt (the floor may need repair). The figurative falling down was at the market on Saturday morning. I did some major and planned stash expansion so I’ll jump right into Just (k)nits to be.  The next post will be about the center and the classes. Most of the yarn I purchased was worsted, aran or DK weight for softies. From GnomeAcres I bought 6 skeins.

Another Crafty Girl worsted

Another Crafty Girl worsted

GnomeAcres

GnomeAcres

From Anorher Crafty Girl I bought  some worsted and a bestie set which is fingering weight and will be socks.She also dyed the yarn that was in my SSK goodie bag which was called Happy Tears and New Friends and will also be socks.

Bestie Set

Bestie Set

SSK goodie bag yarn

SSK goodie bag yarn

I also pre-ordered a shawl kit called Summers at Scarritt Bennett from Desert Vista Dyeworks.The colorway was inspired by the colors in the walla of the beautiful gothic buildings at the center.I also bought some self-striping sock yarn from Desert Vista Dyeworks at the  market.Three of these colorways were limited edition SSK colors. I also bought a couple of project bags, a sweater bag, some wheel bags, and a large tote. I was also gifted a bag.

DVD self-striping

DVD self-striping

DVD shawl kit

DVD shawl kit

I did  some knitting while there. I worked on Just (k)nits for others owls. These are for the boys and are in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted Robot Overlord colorway. The heads and wings are Liberty Wool. I used US size 5 needles. I’ll assemble these and the last girl owl when all are finished. 2013-07-23 18.32.38

I’m almost finished with my Color Affection in Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Select Cornflower and Dusty Rose and Tempted Good Grrl in Sidra using US size 6 needles. I’m on the last row which I hope to finish tonight. I’ll bind off tomorrow.2013-07-23 22.18.25

Just (k)nits casting on will be Volatile Magic in Wooly Wonka Artio Sock yarn using US size 4 needles. The colorway is Shapeshifter. I’ll also be casing on turtle, TURTLE in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted in turtle, TURTLE and Limey Green using US size 5 needles. I’ll also be casting on the last owl for the church graduates.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Fall down, go boom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


