D’oh!

D’oh! Headslap! I can’t believe I did it! I know better but just wasn’t thinking. During my four-day knit-in, I was able to block Tea Leaves, Evenstar and the two baby sweaters. I have a top-loader washing machine so my usual method for washing hand knits is to put them in the machine with lid open and let them soak in the machine. Then leaving the lid open I let the machine complete its cycle and then close the lid during the spin cycle.So I tossed all the pieces in the machine and did my thing. I took the Evenstar and the Buttons cardigan and pinned them out. Then I took out the Tea Leaves and the Antler. OH NO!!! the Malabrigo Silky Merino Teal Feather bled on the Antler. I don’t have much time or money invested in the Antler and have time to knit another before gifting but, later in the afternoon while taking pictures, I discovered that it had also bled on the Evenstar. I am sick. I tried a couple of remedies to no avail. Fortunately I have to look closely to see it and the staining can be folded over when the piece is worn. So I guess the Evenstar won’t be going to the fair.Here are pictures of the Evenstar and the Tea Leaves after blocking.2013-07-06 19.02.34 2013-07-06 19.38.21So the lesson here is always use a color catcher when soaking multiple pieces together.

Also during the four-day knit-in I have a couple of Just (k)nits bound off. I finished Germinate in Quince & Co Chickadee Clay, Chanterelle and Parsley colorways on US size 6 needles. This piece used quite a bit more yardage than the pattern suggested. I needed another 10 yards of Parsley to finish the pattern as written but I changed to Clay a row early. Also I used a full skein of Clay and part of a second. Some of this was due to the extra row but would have used more than suggested without the extra. I’d hoped to use leftover Clay and Parsley for Gullfoss but will have to order a skein of green.2013-07-06 21.25.21This piece hasn’t been blocked. Hopefully I’ll be able to do that this week or maybe next weekend.

I also finished another Maggie the Owl in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted Retro Lemon Studio and Kiwi colorways on US size 5 needles. I’m making eight of these and this one was the third. 2013-07-07 22.51.54

In  Just (k)nits in progress I have Color Affection on US size 6 needles using Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Select and Tempted Yarns Good Grrl. I’m fixing to start the first stripe. The main color is Cornflower. I’ll add the Dusty Rose next. For some reason, I’m having a problem with yarn barf which is slowing the process. (I’m hoping it’s cleaned up now.)2013-07-07 23.43.54

Izzy is now the chief sleep knitter and she’s a very talented sleep knitter. I do have to remind her not to massage the knitting with her claws.2013-07-03 07.40.03

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “D’oh!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


