Four Day (K)nit in

It’s Independence Day in the US. Gate City Yarns is closed for the long weekend and I worked a couple of extra hours at my bookkeeping job so that I could have a four-day (k)nit in. I’m hoping to have Just (k)nits in progress down to one project by Monday. Unless I have the stinking tinks again like I did this afternoon, I should be able to finish Germinate by Monday. This project is in Quince & Co  Chickadee in Clay, Chanterelle and Parsley on US size 6 needles.  I worked a couple of pattern rows this afternoon before realizing that half the double decreases were knit 3 togethers and I’d been doing slip 1  knit 2 together pass slip stitch over. Oops! I was able to fix this without completely tinking. I’m really pleased with the way my color choices worked out. The last lace section has leaves so the green is perfect. 2013-07-04 19.25.28

I also cast on Color Affection at knit night on Monday and knit a few rows of this project. I’m using US size 6 needles and Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Select Cornflower for main color, Dusty Rose for Contrast Color 1 and Tempted Yarns Good Grrl Sidra for Contrast Color 2.This will be one of the projects I take to Nashville for SSK (I think). I set it aside when I got home Monday. and didn’t take picture but here are the yarns2013-07-01 14.53.27

Before starting the four-day (k)nit in, I had some Just (k)nits bound off.  The Tea Leaves Cardigan in Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feather colorway on US size 6, 7, and 8 needles is off the needles but doesn’t have buttons and is unblocked. I should have switched the smaller needles for the garter ridge section of the sleeves which I didn’t and which caused the sleeves to flare a bit. This will be one of those comfortable go-to kind of sweaters. It’s soft and has enough ease to be comfortable. I know I’ll enjoy wearing it.2013-07-02 22.31.45

I also finished Justin’s Prayer Owl (aka Maggie the Mama Owl). I used GnomeAcres Squishy Gnome in Wabbit Season Duck Season colorway and Cascade 220 for the head and wings. The eyes came from 6060. 2013-07-04 00.20.39

For Just (k)nits for others I cast on another Maggie Prayer Owl for Liz. This one is in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted in Retro Lemon Studios and Kiwi colorways. I’ve worked about 20 rows.2013-07-04 21.24.13

Just (k)nits to be I received Wooly Wonka Heroines Accessory Club shipment. The pattern is a shawlette called Volatile Magic and the yarn is a beautiful colorway. 2013-07-01 16.27.18Also I felt the need for a bit of retail therapy so I have some Quince & Co Chickadee coming to make Gullfoss. I’m going to use left over Parsley and Clay from the Germinate and have Frost and Delft en route. I’ll have pictures for the next post.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Four Day (K)nit in”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


