Book Reviews…Not!! (TTL MKAL spoilers)

I watch several video podcasts and hate it when they review books. They tend to all review the same books so I sometimes see the same book reviewed several times. They also tend to show patterns they like which are often not the ones I like. I’d rather they just say they liked or disliked the book and the patterns are shown on Ravelry. I usually fast forward so I don’t have to watch them.

So why under Juat (k)nits to be am I reviewing two books. Actually I’m not. I bought both these books. Obviously I liked them or I wouldn’t have bought them. Some of the patterns for the zombie book are on Ravelry. It has instructions on how to make the body and head for the zombie and then has instructions for clothing and accessories so one can mix and match. 2013-06-18 19.28.05The Next Step targets new knitters who know how to knit and purl and are looking for the next step. It has 43 squares with different motifs and lots of good technique information. It is self-published and available from Gate City Yarns. I bought it for the stitch motifs and the techniques. I’d be unlikely to knit an afghan in squares. And, yes, I’m an experienced knitter but the book has useful information for all. 2013-06-20 23.38.00

I also would like to add that lately I tend to buy books with more techniques than patterns. I prefer individual patterns because most books and magazines usually only have one or two patterns I like. If I buy individual patterns at $6 each as opposed to $20 to $30 for a book, I have more money for yarn.

Despite my slow start on my Just (k)nits for others the Antler Cardigan is almost finished. I’ve picked up stitches for the first front band and will likely finish this project tomorrow. I’m using Cascade Pacific which I bought at a yarn yard sale for $1 a skein and have already made an adult sweater with it. I’m not overly fond of the yarn it’s very soft and splitty and even though it’s machine washable it “sheds” when washed. I think I’ll have enough left to make a smaller baby sweater.2013-06-20 23.36.39

Moving on to Just (k)nits in progress I more or less back burnered the TTL Mystery Shawl 2013. I’m only working on it about an hour a day so haven’t made much progress. I’m still very much in love with the Quince & Co yarns. and am pleased with this project. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up the pace next week.2013-06-20 23.35.21

I’m focused on my Tea Leaves Cardigan which has a deadline (sort of). I’ve about tw0 days left on the body and then will start the sleeves. These should go quickly and unless I have to visit the frogs I should be finished with time to spare. 2013-06-20 23.30.12

I’ll be casting on Maggie the Mama Owl in GnameAcres Wabbit Season Duck Season under Just (k)nits casting on. I’ll be making eight of these in various yarns for the graduates at my church. I’ll use the throws I’d originally made for sick folks. I felt that I needed to make something for all the grads whether they were church members of not. They all need my prayers

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Book Reviews…Not!! (TTL MKAL spoilers)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


