Color shopping

Monday evenings I knit with a group of knitters in Danville VA which is about 25 miles from my house. We’ve been knitting together for quite a few years and sometimes we all decide to knit along the same project. July 1 we’ll be casting on Color Affection. This is a three-color project and deciding on three colors is difficult especially when shopping online for yarn. I was lucky to have three colors in my stash that I could use–Cherry Tree Hill Supersocke Select in Cornflower and Dusty Rose and Tempted Yarns Good Grrl in Sidra. Tonight one of the knitters was color shopping. She’d ordered some beautiful silk yarn which wasn’t what she expected colorwise. So she was shopping for other colors. We all gathered around her iPad and helped her shop. When I lamented the fact that I’d left my Kindle Fire at home, we discussed the fact that our “technology” contributes to out knit night discussions. This Just (k)nits casting on project is one of the reasons that I’m determined to finish my Just (k)nits in progress Tea Leaves Cardigan by June 30.I’m trying to work a couple of inches on the body of the Tea Leaves every day and have so far been able to do this. This piece is also an entry for a sweater KAL which ends June 30 which is another reason for my goal.2013-06-17 23.59.58

This means that I’ve cut back on the amount of time I’m working on TTL MKAL. I’m only working on it an hour a day. Saturday I didn’t work on it at all because I had a 5-hour sleep knitting attack so didn’t even try to work on the lace section. In the past failure to finish a clue before the next was released would have totally stressed me out but. since 2013 is the year of fun-knit-whatever-the-heck-you-want knits, I’m okay with this. I’ll finish it when I finish it–preferably before SSK in mid-July. 2013-06-17 16.09.00I like the piece and even though I wasn’t thrilled with the Parsley am pleased with the way that it looks in the piece.

I’m making good progress now on the Antler Cardigan which is my Just (k)nits for others project. I should finish it by week’s end and am planning to make some owls using RetroLemon’s Maggie the Mama Owl pattern.  As you know I made throws for the graduates who are full members of my church but felt “guilty” because some of the non-members who were honored actually participate more often. So I’ll use the throws as prayer shawls for sick folks and make owls for all the graduates. I’ll also probably use up the leftover Unicorn Freckles to make a Chubby Chirp. Chubby Chirps are a great get well/cheer up gift.2013-06-17 13.41.49

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “Color shopping”


  1. 1 sallygayle June 18, 2013 at 6:43 am

    I miss Monday nights! I miss seeing everyone! I’m on my 2nd color affection you guys will enjoy it! Easy mindless but fun knit!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


