First Time Evah! (TTL MKAL spoiler pic)

I’ve knit several pieces with an applied lace edging and always end up with too many or too few stitches. I usually either work three together or skip a bind off . For the first time evah I had the right number of stitches on the Evenstar. Yes it’s off the needles. Happy dance happy dance happy dance! I attribute my success to the use of stitch markers. In the past I’ve considered them a PITA gadget.I disliked them and thought them in the way.Back in the dark ages we only had the hard plastic ones so they “cut into your fingers” when on the needle and were uncomfortable.  I occasionally used them but, as I mature in years, I’ve found them to be necessary. I even use them on largely stockinette pieces because it makes counting stitches easier. (Yes I can count that high but counting to 25 is easier than counting to a bazillion…I wear big girl size.) I use #10 o-rings which are about two cents each and are squishy so don’t cut into my hands.I recently heard a new knitter call these cheaters. Stitch markers, row counters and lifelines (which I don’t use often) are not cheating. These are very important and necessary tools of the craft.

Obviously the Evenstar is a Just (k)nits bound off.2013-06-13 19.03.32 I haven’t blocked it yet but hopefully will do so soon so the lacework doesn’t show well in the picture. I knit this in Wollmeise Lace-Garn Amethyst Light colorway, using US size 3 needles and beads from Fusion Beads. The pattern is well written and easy to follow. The yarn was a bit splitty but the resulting fabric is well worth it. I’ve very pleased with this project.

With the bind off of Evenstar, I am able to spend extra time on other Just (k)nits in progress such as TTL MKAL. For this piece I’m using US size 6 needles and Quince & Co Chickadee in Parsley, Clay and Chanterelle colorways. I’m very much in love with Quince & Co yarns. It has great stitch definition and is soft and squishy and the quality is excellent. I’m pleased with this piece but have been struggling to finish the current clue before the next one is released. This will not be an issue now that Evenstar is finished.2013-06-13 19.01.29

My other current (k)nits in progress is Tea Leaves Cardigan. I’m using Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feather and alternating two skeins using US size 6 and 7 needles. The yoke of this project uses a technique called ruching and it takes forevah. Ruching is accomplished on this piece by doubling the stitches, working several rows of stockinette then decreasing back to original number of stitches. I’m finished with the ruching and hopefully with be dividing the body and sleeves today. I’m hoping to finish this piece by June 30  so that I can enter in The Knit Girllls sweater knitalong that ends June 30. 2013-06-13 18.57.27

My current Just (k)nits for others is an Antler Cardigan in Cascade Pacific using US size 6 and 8 needles. For some reason this project is going much slower than it should. I seem to be knitting along about half speed and not sure why. (It could be that stopping to play Candy Crush every 10 rows is the problem…intervention, yes.) This picture was taken yesterday and I finished the second sleeve this morning and will cast on the body this afternoon. 2013-06-13 19.00.13

Izzy Bizzy Kizzy is happy that Evenstar and all the graduate throws are finished because she gets lap time. I wouldn’t let her sleep in my lap because she kept kneading the (k)nits with claws extended which could be a problem. She’s happy that summer (k)nits won’t be so big.2013-06-13 19.31.06

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

1 Response to “First Time Evah! (TTL MKAL spoiler pic)”


  1. 1 Diane June 14, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    Be sure and bring Evenstar to knitting so we can touch and admire!


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


