(K)nit happens (TTL MKAL spoiler pic within)

Last post was a quick “I’m busy knitting. I’ll be back later.” Yes, (k)nit happens. I was sick and unable to knit for 36 hours. (No we don’t need to call the funeral home.) I’m well and spent some time catching up the (k)nits. About the time I caught up it started raining here and it rained and it rained and it rained. I couldn’t go outside to take pictures so I knitted and knitted and knitted. I did cast on the TTL MKAL (watch out for spoiler pic) so I have four–count them–four projects on the needles right now.Hopefully I’ll be down to three by next post. I did finish a couple of projects but cast on others. I also had one really good mail day when my mailbox would have overflowed had I not been standing at the curb when the carrier came. So this may be a long post.

Just (k)nits bound off…

I finished turtle, TURTLE in GnomeAcres Chunky Scruffy Gnome in Unicorn Freckles and Cascade 220 using US size 5 needles.Eyes came from 6060 eyes After assembly, I named this turtle “Freckles” and will be gifting it next week to my young friend, Darla.2013-06-06 21.15.17

I also finished Baby Pugh’s Buttons Cardigan in Liberty Wool using US size 5 needles. I will use stash buttons from Tessa Ann Designs.2013-06-09 17.36.23

The sweater was Just (k)nits for others so I cast on Mila’s Antler Cardigan in Cascade Pacific using US sizes 6 and 8 needles. Since this is an infant size and starts with the sleeves, I decided to cast on without swatching. I did have to frog and change needle sizes and I had a long (about 3 hours) sleep knitting session this evening so not much progress on this.2013-06-09 19.15.42

In Just (k)nits in progress I‘m almost finished with Evenstar. I’m so close I’m tempted to work on it in the evenings to finish it up. Of course, if I’d tred this tonight, I’d have been sleep knitting it which would have been bad. I will have this finished by next post even if I have to call in “sick” to work. And, no, I wouldn’t do this as it would surely end in a visit to the frog pond and the last thing I want is to have to frog this piece. I think I have 4 or 5 pattern repeats left which translates into about 5 or 6 hours of wide awake knitting. This piece is knit in Wollmeise Lace-Garn in Amethyst Light Colorway with beads from Fusion Beads and on US size 3 needles.2013-06-09 17.37.56

I also cast on Tea Leaves Cardigan in Malabrigo Silky Merino in Teal Feather colorway and using US size 6 and 7 needles. The yoke for this piece is ruched (increasing to double the stitches, knit 3 rows then decrease back to original number). Needless to say this is very slow knitting. I’ve finished the yoke but fell victim to sleep knitting attack tonight so didn’t get as much done as I’d have liked. I’ve used this yarn previously but am a bit disappointed that the quality on this lot is not as good as the last I used. 2013-06-09 19.16.32

After much debate and a visit to the Ravelry “spoiler” thread, I decided to cast on the TTL Mystery Shawl KAL. The debate ended when I realized that I’d proclaimed this the year of knit-whatever-you-want fun knitting so I should not just talk the talk but should also (k)nit the (k)nit. I’m knitting this in Quince & Co Chickadee on US size 6 needles. The stripes are Chanterelle and Clay colorways and the lace is Parsley. Again I’m singing the praises of this yarn. 2013-06-09 17.39.22

Now about Just (k)nits to be …no I didn’t fall off the wagon. I ordered from Desert Vista Dyeworks limited edition monthly selections and couldn’t decide between two colorways so ordered both. These are her color change (block) colorways. The top one is Melon Medley gradient and will be Sarla and the bottom one is Toucan Color Block (Brazil series) and will be TGV. I really think that my intent was to order another colorway instead of the Melon Medley one but apparently clicked the wrong “button.” 2013-06-06 23.04.32

Also on the same day, I received my Tempted Pin-up Girrls club shipment. The colorway is Buttons and Bows in the Dream Girrl base. The pattern that came with it is a hat which I don’t/won’t wear so this will be a Honey Cowl.2013-06-06 23.11.41

Also I had two club shipments from Wooly Wonka Heroines club. Somehow I got “dropped” from the shawl club roster and hadn’t received any shipments. We discovered this when Kirsten Kapur announced that she would be releasing Irene Adler which was the March selection. I realized that I’d never seen the pattern. When I sent Anne a message she just happened to be looking at the club roster and realized that I wasn’t listed. She verified that I’d paid and sent both March selection (red) . I must tell you that I love this piece and am resisting the urge to move it right to the top of the queue. 2013-06-09 23.19.55

Anne also sent the June selection (yep it’s purple) the pattern for this one is Alexia.  This pattern is very steampunk and I’m definitely feeling the love for it too.2013-06-06 23.04.52

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “(K)nit happens (TTL MKAL spoiler pic within)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


