Palate Cleansing

When I finish up a big project that seemed to take forevah to finish, I’m beginning to see that a bit of palate cleansing before the next big forevah project is helpful. Since last post, I’ve been busy knitting lots of small things along with the Evenstar. I’ve experienced a bit of instant gratification and in a few days will be ready to tackle another big project. This was purely unintentional. As I reflect on it, I think this will be intentional in future. In the past, I’ve finished up work-in-public projects which are usually socks or other “quick” knits. In future, I’ll queue socks or softies between sweaters and other larger pieces.My palate has received a thorough cleansing since last post as you will see in Just (k)nits bound off.

I finished up Happy Mouse, Sad Mouse in scrap yarn on US size 5 needles. The instructions suggested using poly pellets to weight this toy. I did not have any but bought some for next time. I think this toy needs the weighting. 2013-05-26 17.39.27 2013-05-26 17.39.10

I also cast on and finished Egg to Penguin from Cascade 220 and Berroco Vintage on US size 6 needles. This little toy makes me smile. Both this one and the mouse are from a book by Susan B Anderson, Topy-Turvy:Inside-out Knit Toys. The patterns and technique instructions in the book are well written and illustrated. The projects progress in difficulty and my plan is to knit all 12 projects in the order presented2013-05-26 18.57.42 2013-05-26 18.57.18

I also worked on the Buttons Cardigan which is a Just (k)nits for others project. I’m using Liberty Wool and US size 5 needles. This is one of my favorite baby knits. 2013-05-26 19.00.12

In Just (k)nits in progress, I’m also beading right along on Evenstar. I’ve been able to finish two 20-row border repeats a day so I should finish this by mid-June. As with most projects, the closer I get to the end, the faster I knit. 2013-05-26 17.36.44

I also cast on turtle, TURTLE. I decided to knit this one from some Unicorn Freckles leftover from Priscilla the Persnickety Pig. I’ll make the head and feet from some pink Cascade 220. I’m using US size 5 needles. Knitting the base of this project was a bit tedious. I tried double pointed needles, two circulars, a 16-inch circular and finally settled on two circulars.2013-05-26 18.59.40

Just (k)nits to be oops! I fell again. Fibernymph Dyeworks had a pre-order update and I “scored” her Inversibles in cherry/gray combo. These sock sets reverse the stripe depth so that one sock will have a wide cherry-narrow gray pattern and the other wide gray-narrow cherry. I might have ordered a skein of How Now Purple Cow self-striping in her last update which you’ll see next post. 2013-05-26 17.38.45

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Palate Cleansing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


