Maryland Sheep and Wool

Bazinga! as Sheldon would say or gotcha! No I didn’t go. I have lots of friends who were there and wish I could see them and spend time with them. But, after hearing that the only place to sit and people-watch is the ground and that the crowds are huge. I decided that I’d hate the fiber festival part. I’m no shopper and hate to walk and stand. When I go to fiber festivals like SAFF, I usually shop a bit then go back to the booth and sit. I do more people watching and enjoy the company of friends. I’m sure that my friends who are attending will share their finds and enable me to buy from vendors who have online presence and, as I said earlier, I do wish I could hang out with my friends.

While my friends were at MDSW I enjoyed a non-public clothes day Saturday. I had some household chores to do and spent some time knitting and spinning. I have a

Just (k)nits bound off…

I finished my Twitterpated socks. They’re made from Vesper Sock in the Twitterpated colorway using US size 0 needles. I knit them toe-up using 66 stitches and Cat Bordhi’s Tomato Heel. I’ve used this technique twice and both times had very obvious laddering at the division of heel and foot. The best remedy I found for this was to make 1 on the first full round and work 2 together on the second full round. I still like a slip stitch heel best.

2013-05-05 17.18.09I also made a good deal of progress on

Just (k)nits in progress…

I continued to work on Evenstar. I’ve finished the twisted stitch decrease rows–yay!!! Now I’m working an area of the chart that has plain knitting every other row. It does have double and triple decreases. I had a bad experience once with double decreases. I failed to catch one of the stitches and when I blocked the piece, I had holes.So I’m always careful when I do these. Through July I’ve planned projects that are predominantly stockinette so I will be able to continue working on the Evenstar in the afternoon or morning. I hope to finish it by mid-July but don’t have a clue how long beading will take.

2013-05-05 22.26.29I cast on Gill’s Rock in Quince & Co Finch Twig colorway using US size 6 needles. This yarn is wonderful. It has good definition and is easy to work no splitting. It is 100% wool but feels very soft. This company has excellent customer service. The yarn ships promptly and is packaged nicely and the price is right.

2013-05-05 22.24.02Just (k)nits for others….

I’m on target with SouthPark Wade Throw. This pattern is one that I’m improvising. I’m using Berroco Vintage and US size 9 needles. I will set this aside for a couple of days to make a Chubby Chirp in “bluebird” colors for a sick friend. I hope to finish the Wade by month’s end.

2013-05-05 15.40.24Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Maryland Sheep and Wool”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


