All the Things Go Better with Chocolate

Things go better with Coke and all the things go better with chocolate.Since last post I’ve made quite a bit of progress on all the things and have actually been planning some new things. I’ve decided to continue to work on Evenstar. For the rest of May and into June, I’ll be working projects that won’t require a lot of concentration so will be good knits to work in the evening when sleep knitting attacks and also in public. Also my charity knits will be made from “shop” yarn which means like the graduate throws I’ll be able to work them at the shop. So I’ll be able to work on Evenstar in the afternoons.

Just (k)nits in progress…

If I do find that working three projects is stressing and have to put Evenstar back to sleep, at least, I will have finished the twisted decreases. Part of the reason that I’ve made little progress on chart 3 is  a learning curve that results from going a month or so without working the piece. This month I worked it long enough that I remembered how to do the twisted stitches and became faster. I only have one more row of twisted decreases and the rest of chart 3 is regular decreases and yarn overs on odd rows and even rows are knit. Of course chart 4 is an applied beaded border which is about 1100 rows and 3000 beads so that will take a while. I’m not even going to guess when this piece will be finished. I’d really like to finish chart 3 by the end of May. Here’s a picture of a couple of pattern repeats from chart 3. You can click on pictures to make them larger. I’m experimenting with picture sizes.

2013-05-02 17.05.32I’ve also rounded the heel and working the leg of my Twitterpated socks on US size 0 needles using Vesper Sock Yarn and Cat Bordhi’s Tomato Heel. On this sock when I finished each heel wedge and worked the full rounds on the first round I made 1 between needles and on the second round I worked two together. This helped with the laddering problem I had.  I like the way the striping works with this heel treatment but still like slip stitch heels best. I hope to finish these Saturday.

2013-05-02 17.15.06Just (k)nits for others…

The SouthPark Wade throw rested Monday and Tuesday because I worked on it quite a bit over the weekend. I’m trying to average about 1200 stitches a day on this piece and had finished Monday’s and Tuesday’s allotments on Sunday. This allowed me time in the afternoons to work on Evenstar. I’m using US size 9 needles and Berroco Vintage. I used Berroco Comfort for some of the throws because I thought this yarn softer than the Vintage but the Vintage is making nice soft fabric with good definition.

2013-05-02 17.15.40This piece will sleep a while before next post. I have a friend who has some health issues and needs cheering up. I’ll be knitting her a Chubby Chirp in bluebird or goldfinch colors. I’ll either use US size 4 or 5 needles.

Just (k)nits casting on… Once the Wade is finished, I plan to knit a couple of baby sweaters for some church folks who have or will have little ones. One will be an Antler Cardigan using some Cascade Pacific and the other will be either a buttons cardigan or baby surprise jacket. Whichever one I knit will be in Liberty Wool. I’ll also be knitting some Topsy Turvy Toys from Susan B Anderson’s book as part of a knitalong. I think these will make great cheer me up gifts for shut-ins and other sick folks.

Once the socks are finished I will cast on Gill’s Rock in Quince & Co Finch on US size 6 needles or Sam the Superfrog for which I haven’t decided on yarn. Sam is a knitalong and has to be finished by May 31. I’m leaning toward Gill’s Rock which I can set aside for a couple of days to work a Sam.

Other things in planning stage are Tea Leaves Cardigan and turtle, Turtle which will be happening in June.

Just (k)buts to be…

My May selection from Desert Vista Dyeworks arrived today. It’s called A Colorful Celebration and is part of her India-inspired colorways. It’s self striping so it’ll be socks.2013-05-02 17.11.46

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

2 Responses to “All the Things Go Better with Chocolate”


  1. 1 atangledyarn84 May 3, 2013 at 2:22 pm

    Coca cola is my addiction! My boss can tell what kind of week I’m having by how many comes I’ve had. Coke certainly does make everything better!

    • 2 southparknitter May 3, 2013 at 2:32 pm

      I can relate to that too.I’m also a recovering Diet Coca-Cola addict. I semi-retired several years ago and realized how much I spent on Cokes. Switched to iced tea which is more economical but still have to have a Diet Coke in the morning to get me going.


Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


