Stressless in Carolina

My last post was a bit of a rant about how I found polygamous knitting to be stressful. I realized Friday that part of my stress may have been due to depleted chocolate stores at the “studio.” I quit smoking 15 years ago and, when the cigarettes left the building, the chocolate and fat clothes moved in. (The fiber and yarn came when the liquor left.) When I’m stressed, I eat chocolate. So for the last several weeks  while working the Christmas stockings I’ve been out of chocolate.(Except the two bars of World’s Finest Chocolate that I inhaled on the five minute drive from my church to the studio.) Yes, I know they sell chocolate at grocery stores and supermarkets and drugstores and numerous other retail establishments but I didn’t have time to shop. Lately my preferred chocolate infusion system has been Trader Joe’s Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels. Well in truth any system will do except maybe chocolate covered raisins, and I’d probably suck the chocolate from those and save the raisins in a zipper bag for when the preacher comes to call.So Friday I made the hour long pilgrimage to Trader Joe’s to replenish my chocolate stores.

When I arrived at Trader Joe’s, I went straight to the cookie and candy aisle. I couldn’t find the Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels so loaded other things on my list–cookies, white cheddar corn puffs, wine–and made a circle through the store to be sure I hadn’t passed them. Finally I located the “ask me” dude and learned TJs was temporarily out of these chocolate delights. I had a meltdown in the candy aisle. Poor “ask me” dude was offering me alternatives and trying his best not to laugh  because this post-menopausal, fluffy, 60-something female with a cart full of snack foods and 3-buck chuck is having a meltdown over chocolate in the middle of the store. Finally I did throw some other forms of chocolate stress relief in the cart and left. They’re okay but not as good as the pretzels and, at least, I have chocolate and am stressless for a while. Now on to the (k)nits.

Just (k)nits for others…

I’ve been working on SouthPark Wade Throw quite a bit this weekend. It is a good shop  project so I’ve been working it while at Gate City Yarns. I’m several days ahead of schedule and so will probably not work on this piece until Wednesday. I’m using Berroco Vintage and US size 9 needles. The pattern is my own.

2013-04-28 16.01.54

 

 

 

 

 

Just (k)nits in progress…

I’ve finished Twitterpated sock 1 and am over half finished with the foot of sock 2. I hope to finish these by the weekend. I’m using the tomato heel treatment and US size 0  needles.

2013-04-28 23.24.58

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t have a picture of Evenstar. I did make some progress on this. I have 3 more twisted decrease rows and hopefully I’ll pick up speed when I finish those. The twisted decreases require quite a bit of moving stitches back and forth between needles which slows the process considerably. I’m using Wollmeise Lace and US size 3 needles.

Just (k)nits casting on…

The random number generator and I have decided that I’ll be casting on turtle, TURTLE and Gill’s Rock in the very near future. I’ll post details next post.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just knits.

0 Responses to “Stressless in Carolina”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


