Christmas (k)nits NOT!

Maybe it was the fact that I’ve been knitting Christmas stockings but for some reason I felt compelled to sit down and make a list of Christmas knits that I want to do. Yes I know it’s only April. This caused a brief debate as to whether I should start working on Christmas (k)nits on Sundays which I did a couple of years ago. Since that time having multiple projects on the needles that seem to take forever to finish has become an issue. As I’ve said before I either get castonitis or I buy yarn to make another neat project to add to the never-ending queue. As you know right now I have Evenstar, SouthPark Wade Throw and Twitterpated socks in the works and am experiencing major castonitis and fighting the urge to enhance stash (oops, yes, I did). Since I don’t need the stress of castonitis or more yarn, Christmas (k)nits will not be cast on until fall. Actually some of the softies will be worked as knit in public projects before fall.Let’s talk about

Just (k)nits in progress…

Evenstar was always meant to be a long-range project but the longer I work on it the more I want it finished. I’m making good progress and am able to work 1.5 rows on the days I work it. I need two hours to knit a decrease row due to moving stitches and twisting stitches. The non-decrease row I can knit in about an hour. I’m considering changing my plan again so that I work on this project more often. I may work 6 rows between projects. I have ruled out continuously knitting it until finished. The twisted decreases are fiddly and the applied edge is beaded another major slowdown. When finished, it will be worth all the work. I really can’t take a picture that will do it justice until it’s off the needles.I’m knitting it in Wollmeise Lace in the Amethyst Light colorway on US size 3 needles.

2013-04-25 18.39.14

 

 

 

 

 

Sleepknitting has slowed progress on the Twitterpated sock.I really expected to have sock 1 finished by now but it’s not–maybe it will be done Sunday.I forgot that I had laddering when I used the Tomato Heel earlier and that I fixed this by making one and then “knitting” the ladders with my crochet hook to the first full round then decreasing at points A and B. The socks are for me and the  ladders can’t be seen from the back of a galloping horse so it’s okay. I like the way the stripes “pool” around the heel but I’ll probably go back to the slipstitch heel which is my preferred heel treatment.

2013-04-25 18.38.09

 

 

 

 

 

Just (k)nits for others…

The SouthPark Wade Throw is on schedule but, due to my only working it a couple of hours each day, seems to be taking forevah! Okay this is why I try to avoid polygamous knitting and why I stopped charity knitting two hours a day. I get frustrated because I don’t have finished objects. (Yes I just finished two Christmas stockings,) Please forgive my whine and I will knit on and I will finish the Wade and I will cast on the next charity project which will be a baby sweater and much smaller.

The Wade is knit from Berroco Vintage on US size 9 needles.

2013-04-25 18.36.30

 

 

 

 

 

Just (k)nits to be…

I confess. I fell off the yarn diet wagon. I have on its merry little way 3 skeins of Quince & Co Finch in Winesap to make Calanthe. Part of the justification for this purchase (other than loving the yarn and the pattern and being stressed because I have to many projects) is to use some red beads I bought to make Trapeze. Remember all the red beads I bought thinking the yarn was red and was really pink. I spent more on beads than on the yarn if I remember correctly. So I thought this would be the perfect project.

I also bought two more Susan B Anderson books, Spud and Chloe at the Farm and Itty-Bitty Toys. The good thing is these will help me use stash–right?

Just (k)nits casting on…

Yes I have a plan for my next project. Writing about it will intensify my castonitis.Hopefully next post..

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Christmas (k)nits NOT!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


