Sometimes (k)nitting gets in the way

Yeah I skipped a post.Sometimes (k)nitting gets in the way. I was trying to finish embellishments and assembly on the stockings and knitting Monster Chunks to go with them. I finished them Friday and decided to post today and then get back on schedule on Thursday. So I have lots to show under

Just (k)nits bound off…

First the bride’s stocking, Sweet Mama Claus, on US size 5 needles. Both stockings were made from kits from Elegant Heirlooms.2013-04-20 08.25.35 2013-04-20 08.25.25The pattern suggested holly leaves and berries and Mama Claus’ apron made using embroidery and the tiniest pompoms I’ve ever seen. I knew I’d never be able to sew the pompoms and thought gluing them would make a mess. I considered striping the apron but, in the end, decided to leave it plain.

The groom’s stocking is Santa’s Workshop and also on US size 5 needles.2013-04-20 08.04.49 2013-04-20 08.04.37

I thought he needed a lump of coal to go in his. So I made a Monster Chunk using Cascade 220 and US size 5 needles and, for the bride, a Monster Chunk in Pittsburgh Steeler colors in Cascade 220 on US size 52013-04-20 08.24.33 needles2013-04-20 08.01.14.

Just (k)nits for others…

I’m moving right along on the South Park Wade throw. I’m using Berroco Vintage and US size 9 needles. This is an improvised pattern.

2013-04-20 08.45.31I’ve knit a couple of small pieces with this yarn. It is soft and has good stitch definition.I’m working 2 hours a day on charity knits and so far this is working. Once the graduate throws are finished. I plan to make some softies to give to folks who need cheering up and to knit babies sweaters for church babies.

Just (k)nits in progress…

are “me” knits. I  woke up the Evenstar in Wollmeise Lace Amethyst Light colorway on US size 3 needles. I will work on it a couple of hours a day until I’ve worked 10 rows then put it back to sleep. This project is going to take much longer than I’d originally planned. The designer twists some of the decreases which is time consuming but worth it.

2013-04-20 08.44.11I’m also working on the Twitterpated Socks. I’m using Vesper Sock Yarn in Twitterpated colorway on US size 0 needles. I cast on 30 stitches and increased to 66 stitches. I’ll be using Cat Bordhi’s Tomato Heel.2013-04-20 08.46.02

Just (k)nits casting on…

Once the socks are done, I will be casting on turtle,TURTLE in Dancing Dog Dyeworks Waltz Worsted in The Grinch in Whoville and Cindy Lou Who colorways.

Then I’ll be picking something for the stash queue. Aside from Desert Vista Dyeworks monthly colorways and SSK shopping, I’m trying not to buy more yarn until I’ve emptied a small tote. The last tote I started had several projects I’m itching to cast on so I’ll make a list and use a random generator to pick. I’ll work in that tote until all are finished. That being said, I will probably participate in Retro Lemon’s toy KAL in May but will use stash yarn to do so. I’m just happy the gift knitting is done for now and that I can do some “me” knitting a bit.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Sometimes (k)nitting gets in the way”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


