Butterflies are free

If you’ve been following, you know that I’m knitting intarsia Christmas stockings for wedding gifts (the groom’s will be complete with Monster Chunk “lump of coal”). Intarsia is a colorwork technique with frequent color changes that make a design or picture in the fabric. So the knitter–in this case me–has numerous strands of yarn working on any given row. Those who know me well know that I meltdown sometimes when I work with two strands so I have in past controlled my numerous strands with yarn bobbins. However, I found this tedious while working Sweet Mama Claus. I was constantly fiddling with the bobbins, untangling them, rewinding them, unwinding them. Some knitters cut 3 yard lengths of yarn and let them dangle–NOT! So I decided to try yarn butterflies. I’ve never used them because I didn’t think the “knot” would hold. (Not sure why I thought that when I worked in textiles we used to use a similar knot to tie of cones of yarn and it worked.) After working with the butterflies, I now proclaim them the bomb! They work, are less tedious than bobbins and, best of all, are free.

Just (k)nits bound off…

The knitting part of Sweet Mama Claus is finished. I still have to embellish and block. I still like these kits from Elegant Heirlooms and used my US size 5 needles. In past when I’ve made these, I had trouble with woven ends showing through between stitches which I didn’t like so this time. (I’ve now found a remedy for this to some degree) So on this stocking and the Santa’s Workshop I tied some knots which is generally a no-no. The reason for not tying knots is they will pull through to right side of the fabric. (I tied knots in my knitting for 30 years and never had this happen.)I do think weaving ends looks nicer and, after seeing the results of my knotting, think I’ll go back to end weaving. Here’s a picture of the stocking in its current state. I will post a blocked and finished photo in my next Sunday post after gifting.

2013-04-15 15.12.58 2013-04-15 15.12.46

Just (k)nits in progress…

As soon as I bound off Sweet Mama Claus, I cast on Santa’s Workshop on my US size 5 needles. As stated earlier, I used butterflies and this project is moving quickly. I didn’t post yesterday because I wanted to finish the intarsia part of the stocking  last night. I didn’t quite make it but finished the last few rows this morning. I’m hoping to finish the rest of the knitting today. I will then embellish and block both stockings. Embellishing is not my favorite task so I’ll probably embellish a bit each day. If necessary, I’ll increase embellishment time on Thursday and Friday. Both stockings need to be completed by Saturday morning.

2013-04-15 15.11.31 2013-04-15 15.11.49

Friday is also the day I wake up the Evenstar to work 25 more rows before putting it back to sleep. I’ll be working on my Twitterpated Socks as well as another throw which brings me to

Just (k)nits casting on…

I’ll be casting on the last graduate throw which using the same design as the last one. I” be using Berroco Vintage and US size 9 needles. I wanted to put a lump of coal in the toe of the groom’s stocking and decided to make a Monster Chunk in black with a tag that explains it’s a lump of coal. For the bride I’ll be making a  Chubby Chirp.

Till next time, no frogs, no tinks, just (k)nits.

0 Responses to “Butterflies are free”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just (k)nits bound off 2016

Twelve Drummers Drumming Socks
Sockhead Hat

Just (k)nits for others

Playdate using US size 3, 5, and 6 and Wollmeise Pure in Feldmaus

Just (k)nits in the zone

Just dead (k)nits

Rockefeller, US size 3, Wollmeise Pure Ruby Thursday and 47 Ag
Christmas 2016 socks, Size 2.25 mm, Desert Vista Dyeworks Zombody's Kissing Santa Claus

Just (k)nits hibernating

Rockefeller
Sockhead hat


